Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I tried this recipe for 1 cup of rice, obviously halving every ingredient. I made it in the saucepan as the recipe says..i didnt have any problems there. First i poured a spoon of the mixture over the rice and moved it around; took a taste and noticed: this is waaaaay to vinegar-y for my taste. I could not eat this rice by itself, too much vinegar and sugar. I will not use this recipe again unfortunately. I only made it better with a mixture i found in the back of my pantry specifically for sushi rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Worked well, turned out nice and sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PavlodarSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I made the rice in a rice cooker, I followed the rest of the recipe to the ‘T’, The vinegar mixture was just a tad too strong but overall my rice turned out very good, Four Stars…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Tasted like restaurant made sushi rice. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Great recipe, but I will reduce the quantity of vinegar used next time I make this. Tasted great with crab meat, avocado and cucumber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by venetian_lunacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Name of recipe is absolutely right! The rice really does turn out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I'd scale back just a touch on the vinegar, but the recipe amt. didn't alter the speed the sushi was eaten!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmersdaughter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This had too much vinegar for my taste. I ended up adding 5 Tbsp instead of 8 Tbsp and that was more than plenty. There was also too much water in the rice. Next time I will try a 1:1 ratio of rice to water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is perfect sushi rice. I just watch the vinegar to sugar and add slowly I dont want to over flavor the rice. I make the rice up a day or two ahead of time or keep it on hand and it it's still great. I added sesame seeds to the rice prior to rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary loves Lala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I've been using this recipe a while and have been very happy with the results. Basically, it's easy and holds well. However, this time I was a bit short on rice vinegar and the flavor was even better than usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States