Perfect Summer Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Normally I don’t care for “formal” fruit salads as they tend to include a lot of other stuff beyond the fruit – like cream, yogurt, marshmallows, nuts, etc. I appreciated the simplicity of this one which allowed the fruit itself to shine. The citrus syrup seemed to bring all the flavors together, contributed a just right sweetness and prevented the fruit from turning color. Versatile too, since this would work with whatever fruits you choose or have on hand. I made this for just Hubs and me, so I just tossed the fruit and syrup altogether and served the salad in individual dessert dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I made no changes or substitutions. I did use organic fruit and green seedless grapes. We ate every bite of this fruit salad. I think this would be great with cubed melon and either raspberries and blackberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! Be careful not to cook the sauce too long on the higher heat because it will be too thick to mix into the fruit. I put this with just fresh pineapple, strawberries and blackberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this yesterday and it was the talk of the party. EVERYONE loved it. I did not change a thing. One change - I did not layer it but mixed it all together and it was so beautiful, mixed together. The syrup was great too. There were about 70 people at the Picnic and people kept coming back for more. I made it bigger than called for and it still went faster than anything else. A definite keeper!!! Wish I could give it more stars. I acutally cut up everything the night before except the banana, and even made the sauce the night before too. Then a few hous before I served it I tossed it together, then cut and added the banana. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow! This really is a "Perfect" Summer Fruit Salad! It's bursting with a ton of virbrant colors and flavors! It's not only pretty to look at, but it tastes wonderful and is good for you too. A terrific blend all your summer favorites -serve nice and chilled! This recipe definitely doesn't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
very good way to jazz up a simple fresh fruit salad without making it unhealthy. I added fresh lime juice and lime zest also. I took the advise of another recipe and sprinkled some cinnamon in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Way too sweet. Does not need the brown sugar or vanilla. The fruit is sweet enough & has plenty of flavor on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great fruit salad! The sauce was enough to dress up the salad without adding a ton of extra calories. I took this to a party and everyone thought it was very good. I will definitely be making this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made this for a party and came home with none. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is terrific. Used the fruits I had on hand (pears, grapes, blackberries, oranges, bananas, strawberries) and followed the recipe exactly. Yum! We are making this for the 2nd time within a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMBAH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States