Perfect Summer Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Normally I don’t care for “formal” fruit salads as they tend to include a lot of other stuff beyond the fruit – like cream, yogurt, marshmallows, nuts, etc. I appreciated the simplicity of this one which allowed the fruit itself to shine. The citrus syrup seemed to bring all the flavors together, contributed a just right sweetness and prevented the fruit from turning color. Versatile too, since this would work with whatever fruits you choose or have on hand. I made this for just Hubs and me, so I just tossed the fruit and syrup altogether and served the salad in individual dessert dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Absolutely wonderful! I made no changes or substitutions. I did use organic fruit and green seedless grapes. We ate every bite of this fruit salad. I think this would be great with cubed melon and either raspberries and blackberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! Be careful not to cook the sauce too long on the higher heat because it will be too thick to mix into the fruit. I put this with just fresh pineapple, strawberries and blackberries and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this yesterday and it was the talk of the party. EVERYONE loved it. I did not change a thing. One change - I did not layer it but mixed it all together and it was so beautiful, mixed together. The syrup was great too. There were about 70 people at the Picnic and people kept coming back for more. I made it bigger than called for and it still went faster than anything else. A definite keeper!!! Wish I could give it more stars. I acutally cut up everything the night before except the banana, and even made the sauce the night before too. Then a few hous before I served it I tossed it together, then cut and added the banana. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carousel-Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Wow! This really is a "Perfect" Summer Fruit Salad! It's bursting with a ton of virbrant colors and flavors! It's not only pretty to look at, but it tastes wonderful and is good for you too. A terrific blend all your summer favorites -serve nice and chilled! This recipe definitely doesn't disappoint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
very good way to jazz up a simple fresh fruit salad without making it unhealthy. I added fresh lime juice and lime zest also. I took the advise of another recipe and sprinkled some cinnamon in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Way too sweet. Does not need the brown sugar or vanilla. The fruit is sweet enough & has plenty of flavor on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Made this for a party and came home with none. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I served this salad yesterday at a luncheon with girlfriends. It was the most beautiful, delicious fruit salad I have ever served. I followed the recipe exactly. I cut up all of the fruit the night before and made the sauce and poured over and let it marinate in the fridge overnight. I added the bananas the following morning about 3 hours before my event. The fruit salad is absolutely bright and beautiful and it tasted so, so good. This is a keeper for sure and I recommend it to all of you!!!!! PERFECT in every way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seneca, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great fruit salad! The sauce was enough to dress up the salad without adding a ton of extra calories. I took this to a party and everyone thought it was very good. I will definitely be making this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States