Perfect Summer Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Deliciously fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I made this salad for a get together with my girlfriends and they loved it. One of my girlfriends even drank the juice after she was done with the fruit. We did not find the syrup to be too sweet, it was just right and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made this for a family picnic. huge hit. the sauce is what made the difference. As many reviews stated, the sauce did not thicken and that is important so you don't have a "pool" of sauce at the bottom of your dish . To thicken it, I took a small amount of corn starch in a cup, added a little sauce, stirred it so no lumps and then added that to the sauce in the pan and it thickened perfectly. Did not alter the taste of the sauce at all. I did not use all of the sauce but just enough to coat the fruit. We also had to travel 2 hours so I added the sauce just before leaving and that was enough time to absorb the flavor of the sauce in the fruit. I added the bananas and apples just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I didn't have any bananas or pineapple on hand, so I used red raspberries and blackberries instead. I also used two cans of drained mandarin orange segments in place of the fresh orange. Also, taking the advice of some of the other reviewers, I cut the OJ/brown sugar/lemon juice/vanilla in half. My fruit was all very ripe, so I didn't think it would need much sweetening up. This was perfect and a hit with my BBQ guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made a large bowl of the fruit salad and people were choosing it over dessert. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Made this for Mother's day brunch. I love it, and so did my mother. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Edmonds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
I made this for a cookout. We had a lot of guests so I trippled the recipe. It was awesome; There was none left after the party. The only think I changed were the oranges. Instead of regular oranges, I used Cuties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
The trick to this recipe is taste, taste, taste! The negative reviews cite too tart or too sweet syrup, which indicates that you need to keep tasting as you cook to adjust. Don't just blindly follow the recipe; some fruits differ in taste, so you could have two oranges and one is sweeter than the other. Sometimes pineapple is more tart. You just have to adjust the sugar to match the fruits and juices you have! I used an orange-tropical fruit juice and added a touch of honey when my syrup was a little too tart, and this turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
It was delicious, and the syrup did thicken for me. But as the dish was eaten and as it sat a bit, it seemed to have too much liquid at the bottom, almost turning into fruit soup towards the end of the party. I guess next time I will drain it a bit after about 1/2 of the fruit is gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stepheke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Took this to a party and it was a hit! Not too sweet and it doesn't take away from the taste of the fruit. It also kept the bananas and apples from going brown. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States