Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Decadent and Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This cake was spectacular. Very moist and had a rich chocolate flavor. I used a high quality cocoa powder called Valrhona. I followed the cake recipe exactly, however only baked for 23 minutes on the convection setting. Instead of the Bailey's icing I used the "Cream Cheese Whipped Cream Frosting" from this site. Rave reviews. This will be my go to chocolate cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Awesome cake! I made this recipe, exactly as written, to top off my St. Paddy's day menu. The chocolate cake, in my opinion, is absolutely perfect! I will probably use this recipe in the future either with or without the Bailey's frosting. Speaking of the frosting... I followed the directions and topped each layer cake with the frosting and then poured the chocolate ganache over the top of it all. Overall, this was a fantastic cake, but unnecessarily overly sweet. Next time I will only put the frosting in between the two layers and just the ganache over the top. I also had a problem getting the ganache to a good "pouring" consistency as written so I'll have to re-evaluate that part of the recipe the next time I make it - and there will be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made this cake for st pattys day and even thou my famiily are not big sweet eaters they devoured it. Since there were only a few of us I made half the recipe and baked it in a 8X9 square pan. I eliminated the whipped cream topping and frosted it with the Baileys frosting. This is one of the best cakes I have ever had and just perfect for St Patricks Day! Will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelShark
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this cake for my daughter's 19th birthday. Everyone loved it! I have made cake with beer before, but had never used Bailey's. Wow! That really made the cake wonderful. I did the old fashioned thing and used crisco and flour for the pans and the cakes came out with any sticking. Cooked exactly 30 minutes and cooled for 5 minutes before removing from pans. I used a good amount of the frosting in the center of the cake, so I could only cover the top and down 1/2 the sides. If you want to cover the whole cake, cut back on the center filling or make 1 1/2 recipe. I also had a ton of ganache left over (which I won't complain about) but you could cut that part down if you wanted. We are defnitiely going to make again, but I think we will try what others suggested and make the cupcakes. In theory, that will keep us from eating such a huge piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this for y girlfriend's birthday party and it was a big hit. I increased the frosting recipe by 1 1/2 to frost middle, top and sides and that was the perfect amount. I will cut the ganache recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Awesome St. Patty's cake! Didn't feel like buying a lot of Irish Cream liqueur so I just bought the Bailey's Irish cream coffee creamer and used 3 T of that--perfecto! I did make extra icing and was glad I did--helped the look of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This cake is wonderful. Next time I would make a double batch of the icing, it is so good. And half of the chocolate to drizzle over for decoration. If I made cupcakes, I would fill with the icing mixture, lightly ice the tops, then drizzle chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The family enjoyed this cake, so I'll make it again. I followed the recipe, except for when I made the frosting, I was concerned it wasn't enough. So I added another cup of powdered sugar, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 TBS of heavy cream to the frosting mixture and it turned out fine. Oh...and the ganache...I only had four oz of bittersweet chocolate so I mixed it with the same amount of butter and heavy cream and it turned out fine. (with a lot left over for some other sweet thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake is delicious and not hard to make - perfect ending to our St. Patty's Dinner - Deb M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States