Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Awesome St. Patty's cake! Didn't feel like buying a lot of Irish Cream liqueur so I just bought the Bailey's Irish cream coffee creamer and used 3 T of that--perfecto! I did make extra icing and was glad I did--helped the look of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This cake is wonderful. Next time I would make a double batch of the icing, it is so good. And half of the chocolate to drizzle over for decoration. If I made cupcakes, I would fill with the icing mixture, lightly ice the tops, then drizzle chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The family enjoyed this cake, so I'll make it again. I followed the recipe, except for when I made the frosting, I was concerned it wasn't enough. So I added another cup of powdered sugar, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 TBS of heavy cream to the frosting mixture and it turned out fine. Oh...and the ganache...I only had four oz of bittersweet chocolate so I mixed it with the same amount of butter and heavy cream and it turned out fine. (with a lot left over for some other sweet thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake is delicious and not hard to make - perfect ending to our St. Patty's Dinner - Deb M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake was amazing! Very moist with great chocolate flavor. I used the entire 8oz of sour cream by mistake, but the cake was moist and delicious and firm so it wasn't a problem. I also used extra baileys in the frosting for a better spreading consistency. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl66
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A chocoholic heaven. Should have made more Irish cream frosting. I added cream to frosting to alter the consistency a little. Chocolate ganache is to delicious. Next time will cut 8" cakes I'm half to make 4 layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vincentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I found the chocolate cake moist, decadent and delicious...I added two tablespoons more of the Baileys and fell in love with the flavor, but, I will cut the chocolate in half for the top and just drizzle it onto in a pattern, perhaps a spider web..so much chocolate took away from the flavor of the cake itself and also that yummy icing..easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAN13
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved the cake, but I'm only rating it four stars because the amount of frosting as written is hardly enough to cover both cakes. Double the frosting and it's a 5-star recipe. I used more Baileys than the recipe calls for, but that's just a personal preference. Also, I ended up having to use half bittersweet chocolate and half semisweet on the ganache because that's what I had on hand. I would recommend doing this; that way the ganache is slightly sweet and not bitter. For those who said they skipped the ganache - you're missing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This cake is THE BOMB!! VERY chocolatey, moist, rich cake, scrumptious Bailey's icing. The only thing I might do differently next time is make a little more of the icing so I could frost the sides, and cut back on the ganache, as I didn't end up using all of it. A huge hit with my hard-to-please hubby - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaila
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This cake is so delicious and rich. The chocolate drizzle make the cake looks so nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States