Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Starsfan101
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I remade this cake and put up a picture. I didn't follow the instructions completely, hence the oversweetness the first time. However if you follow the instructions to the LETTER, this is the BEST chocolate cake my family has ever eaten. I don't use the parchment paper, but I used a flour based cooking spray (works and doesn't stick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsfan101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
The best way to describe this cake? HMMM.... when you cut a piece of this you cannot use the word "slice". The only way to describe it is a "slab". The Guinness really adds a unique flavor to it and it is not overly sweet. It was moist, rich and dense. I may have added more Bailey's to the frosting than was called for, but I really like Bailey's :-). The amount of bittersweet chocolate needed is equal to 2 candy bars, but I ended up halving that and it was enough for me. I have never made a scratch cake because I was always a little intimidated by therecipes, but although it can look rather daunting it was really pretty easy, and I think even a beginner could make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The very BEST chocolate (or any flavor for that matter) cake ever! Why save it just for St. Patty's Day? Even my husband, who is not a choc cake fan, loved it! Be ready for a rich & decadant treat that you will be craving for every day! This has replaced amaretto cake as our new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is by far the BEST cake I have ever made and I've made my fair share of cakes!! You MUST try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
It was perfect for St.Patric's Day!! I reduced a bit of sugar and it turned to be awesome!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chako

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Follow the directions exactly and you will have the perfect, decadent chocolate cake ever! It was my birthday cake, which was, you guessed it, on St. Patrick's Day! Even if we are not celebrating St. Patrick's Day this will be a favorite of my family for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Absolutely delish! I made this cake with a green fondant instead of the drizzle. RAVE reviews from co-workers!!! Many commented that the chocolate cake tastes like a hostess cupcake. YUM!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
could not find anybody who didnt love this cake . very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Wow!! Such a beautiful and flavorful cake! The flavor of the Guinness in the chocolate cake was VERY nice; added a noticable complex taste in every bite, yet not too overpowering or boozey. The Irish cream icing is very sweet, so the bittersweet drizzle is a good balance in taste. (I put the chocolate drizzle in a ziploc bag and piped it out. Gave more control over the look, I thought) Very decadent cake! All who had it loved it and I will certainly make this again and again...maybe cupcakes next time? Only one piece left...trying to savor it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I served this at a St. Patty's Day party and it was a HUGE hit!! Instead of using 2 9-inch cake pans, I used 2 8-9 inch square glass pans and it came out just right after 30 mins. Also, instead of stacking the cakes, I frosted them separately and severed them as 2 cakes. It went further and the pieces were big enough. (Both cakes feed 20-24 people). If you are going to make 2 cakes, make extra frosting. I doubled the frosting recipes and had left overs. I added more Bailey's to the white frosting since the recipe was a little too thick to spread. At the end of the evening, everyone requested a copy of the recipe. THAT'S how I know it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States