Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MollyB
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Wow. This was my first time ever making a cake from scratch and it turned out excellent! The recipe is really easy to follow. The one thing I would do differently is perhaps make the chocolate sauce a little soupier so it really "drizzled" or else maybe even skip it. The Baileys frosting is already so rich and yummy. Parchmont paper is key because the cake is so moist it is really sticky. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It wasn't the best chocolate cake but still a very good cake...chocolaty with a hit of earthy tones from the Guinness. It was easy to make and came out tasty. I used 6 tblsp. of Baileys in the frosting but otherwise followed the recipe as is. Everyone at the St. Pats party seemed to enjoy the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I did this cake for an early St Patrick's day lunch and it went down a treat. I was a bit dubious that it would cook through when I saw how runny the mixture was but it produced a beautifully risen but very sticky cake. I don't like butter icing so I filled it with whipped cream mixed with melted chocolate and a little Baileys, trimmed the edge with vermicelli and topped it with confectioners sugar (with a shamrock motif). It was delish and we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
OMG! This is the best chocolate cake i have ever made or tasted. and it is easy. i modified the frosting to sub 3/4 cup cocoa for 1 cup of the powdered sugar. this made a great chocolate baileys buttercream. when making as a whole cake, i skipped the ganache (the last part of the ingredients list) delicious without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I wish I had taken pictures of this cake! I made this for my favorite bartender's birthday this past year who's also very proud of his Irish heritage. It looked amazing, and when the cake was divided up to all the regulars at our bar - everyone agreed it tasted phenomenal! I can now no longer go into my favorite bar without being asked when I'll be baking my next cake! In fact, the husband just asked what I was doing - I told him I was reviewing this cake real quick and he asked me when I'm making it again! A lot of work, but so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krueger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Excellent! I lost my original recipe for a chocolate stout cake, and this one was the closest I could find to what I (mostly) remembered from my old recipe. I found the addition of the drizzled chocolate at the end to be unnecessary, as the frosting was the perfect compliment to the cake. To Kryssi_Bee who had an issue with the cake falling apart-it may have been your altitude/humidity affecting the ingredients & cook time. I've made this specific recipe twice now, and found that plenty of parchment paper (more than you really think you'll need), a good douse of cooking spray, and, allowing the cake to cool in the pans *on* the wire rack is the best way to keep it all together. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Ohmygodsorich! Absolutely delicious, though. The only part I had issues with was the chocolate sauce at the end. It was really oily for some reason. It worked, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made this recipe into cupcakes and it was great. I filled each cupcake with the Bailey's buttercream and topped each with the chocolate ganache. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuphsstuff
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was the first recipe I've found on this site where all the reviews said to follow the recipe *To The Letter* and it'll come out perfect. So I did. I've gone over and over the steps and I'm absolutely certain that I very carefully followed all the directions. No substitutions, no shortcuts. And this cake fell apart when I took it out of the pans and all but disintegrated when I tried to frost it. I'm so disappointed in thus recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States