Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SaraBakesWA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I had someone request guinness cake so I tried this recipe and loooove it. Definitely keeping this one. I made it into cupcakes since people seem to dismiss the guilt of indulging in sugary sin when it's served in paper cups. I was pleasantly surprised to discover the recipe was easily enough for 24 cupcakes. I personally don't care for frosting much so for me the two seemed a little much. I followed the suggestion of a another brilliant review and substituted 1 c powdered sugar for 3/4 c. Cocoa powder for the frosting and skipped the ganache/drizzle/whatever that stuff was. It was awesome! Although I ended up doubling it added a couple tablespoons of whipped cream, just enough to bring it to a lighter consistency for piping. I checked them after 15 mins and took them out shortly after. As cupcakes, they DO NOT need 30 mins! These changes made these little guys scrumptious and exactly what I was looking for (but the original recipe is great as it is). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraBakesWA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Who'd ever guess that a recipe for chocolate cake that uses Guinness would turn out to be the best darned chocolate cake I've ever tasted?? Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks? From here on, I'm going to keep a bottle of Guinness in the fridge, and I detest beer of any kind! This is now my go-to chocolate cake recipe. And that's no faint praise, coming from a pastry chef of many years! The stout really complements and rounds out the flavor of the chocolate, plus lends a lovely reddish hue. You never taste it, but it's there, lending its incomparable support to the star of the show (chocolate.) This cake is blow-your-socks-off good, incomparably moist with a very fine, tender crumb. I spiked the ganache with a Tb of Jameson's Irish Whiskey. I cut the centers out of each cupcake (mmmm...chocolate cake scraps to eat!) and filled the holes with the ganache, opting to use it as a filling rather than as a drizzle. I doubled the amount of Irish Cream in the frosting, as well. Served to ooohs, aaahs, moans, groans, swoons, and general paroxysms of pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Might be the best cake ever haha and way easier to make than I thought it would be!! Almost half my office asked for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This cake is amazing; very rich chocolate and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made cupcakes for my office. Everyone loved them. Will make next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Really delicious, half the people who ate it wanted the recipe! All I had was the mint bailey's, but it worked great - everyone enjoyed the slight hint of mint, and it went well with the St. patty's theme. Will definitely make again! The only change I made was to make a lot more frosting - twice as much, actually, which just covered my double layer round cake. And on the same note, there was twice as much chocolate mixture as needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used this recipe to make "carbomb cupcakes". The recipe as is was very good before my changes but the comments that follow are basically a how-to on this variation... Followed the measurements for the cake (added tsp vanilla) which produced two dozen cupcakes. Doubled the buttercream with Irish cream liqueur (adding about 7 TBSP in all). Next time I would use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening since I prefer that combination. I added 2 TBSP of Jameson whiskey to the bittersweet ganache (reduced heavy cream by 2 TBSP to compensate). I was using the ganache just to drizzle on top of the frosting and had lots leftover. Next time I would half or quarter the ganache recipe. This time around I froze my leftovers. Also, the bittersweet was a nice balance to the sweet buttercream however you could not taste the Jameson. I intentionally added the whiskey at the end so it would not cook off. I think a better alternative would be to create a simple syrup out of the whiskey and drizzle that separately alongside the ganache. All in all I was very pleased with my initial results. The cake was very moist and rich with a dark flavor. Samplers couldn't detect the alcohol but very much enjoyed these treats. I'll be making again soon for a party and make work on a way to bring out more of the cocktail essence. Thank you Jowolf2 for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this cake for St Patrick's Day this year and loved it! I'm brand new at this baking thing (I usually just do betty crocker boxed cakes), but I thought this recipe was very easy to follow! I took the cake to work and everyone was so impressed! One thing I wouldn't recommend though - I tried putting a little green food coloring into the Bailey's frosting to make it more festive...and a lot of people were skeptical to eat it because they thought it was mint flavored. (I guess a lot of people don't care for that :P) When I make it again, i'll just leave all the colors alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cake is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The only issue I had was that I did not let my cakes cool long enough before trying to stack and frost them...totally my fault. It didn't matter because everyone loved it. I recommend cutting small slices because this is a rich cake. The irish cream frosting is hard to stop "sampling" so consider yourself warned :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
this cake was amazing and was a big hit at the st. patrick's day party i brought it to. the only mixed reviews i got from people were some weren't fond of the irish cream frosting in between the cakes-it was too liquor-y for them. i would definitely re-make this cake again, maybe substituting the irish cream frosting with the chocolate one instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States