Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ancu
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
10 stars! perfect cake, indeed! you must have it at room temeprature to really taste the perfection. I made it with an irish cream cheese frosting and covered it in chocolate ganache. I made two a week ago and I am making another one today for my son's birthday. He's turning 5 and he never ate cake(he was never interested ) until last week, after I made this cake. And he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This cake was awesome! I used chocolate fudge icing since I didn't have Bailey's on hand, but I definitely want to make the icing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe as cupcakes (24 in total) and they were AMAZING!! I don't even like beer but it gave the cake a wonderful flavor. I filled the cupcakes with the chocolate drizzle and topped with the frosting. The frosting was too thick for me to pipe onto the cupcakes so I folded in some fresh whipped cream. As cupcakes, the cooking time was 20 minutes. What a great recipe...thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by static667
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Its rare that I review anything, but this one deserves it. When I made the cake itself, I accidentally left out half of the butter. It didn't need it as it came out awesome. As for the ganache topping, my friend, and professional pastry chef and baker, suggested using Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips rather than going through the hassle of chopping up bar chocolate. Lets say that it works like a champ. Great recipe. This will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wow, this was great! We preferred ours the next day after it sat in the refrigerator overnight. I did double the frosting since I planned to make 2 cakes instead of one cake with 2 layers but then I had leftovers (not necessarily a bad thing). I would recommend 1 1/2 recipes; this would be enough to easily cover both cakes but not have a lot left over. The cake was very moist and absolutely delicious! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good, big hit at work! I used a bundt pan, cooked it about an hour, and made my own Irish Cream/Whiskey glaze rather than a full-blown frosting - and it was yummy! Pic posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this cake but used the frosting from another Guinness cake recipe on here because I wanted chocolate frosting. Cake was very tasty and moist. Unfortunately, I didn't have parchment paper so I used crisco and flour on the pans, they stuck and fell apart. Cake is very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is the second year I have made these. They were a hit last year but I did not fill them with the ganache. This year I did and took dessert to a friends house last night, they ooed and awed over them. Rave reviews. I am serving them today after our corned beef and cabbabe with family. They are not a "quick" dessert to make but well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These are pretty good. Moist but there are several other chocolate cake recipes that are so much better. Did not use choc. glaze, made 22 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy K
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this recipe into cupcakes and goodness they were SO good! I dipped the tops of each cupcake in the ganache and let it dry for a bit before icing them. I used 3 T. Bailey's plus 1 T. water for the icing. I don't really like butter icing so I did half butter and half shortening. Everyone raved about these and I have already been asked to make them again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States