Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kaila
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This cake is so delicious and rich. The chocolate drizzle make the cake looks so nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I'm not a fan of chocolate cake or Guinness, but you mix the two and it's fantastic! The beer cuts the bitterness of the chocolate and mellows it. The frosting wasn't really my cup of tea. I think I'm going to modify a chocolate frosting for the next time I make this. Overall though, this recipe is definitely going to be my "go to" for chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this for a St. Paddy's day party and it was a hit. I followed the recipe and directions for the cake as written, and it came out moist, light and tender, with a rich chocolate flavor. I would reduce baking time by 5 minutes due to the cake developing a bit of a crust on the edges. I trimmed it, which made icing a bit more challenging due to crumbs. Speaking of crumbs- If presentation is important to you, I'd recommend making extra frosting for a crumbcoat prior to the final icing of the cake. The Bailey's frosting is excellent- I used the Hazelnut flavor of bailey's and it was scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 just because of the frosting. What is listed is definitely not enough for a layer cake. I made a batch and a half and even that was barely enough. Next time I will make a double batch and there will be a next time because it was fabulous! One other thing I will do differently next time is making the ganache. Instead of heating the cream and pouring over the chocolate, I will melt it all together in a double boiler because not all of my chocolate melted. Put your frosted cake in the fridge while the ganache is cooling. I drizzled the ganache in a pattern over the top of the cake because I don't like it too thick and overpowering. For the frosting, I used the amount of Bailey's that it called for but found that it needed more liquid so I alternated adding more Bailey's with milk. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
This cake was a little too boozy. It's probably good for St. Patrick's day but not for just any time of the year. People didn't understand why I put Bailey's in the icing. It's true though. Why can't chocolate cake just be chocolate cake? And leave the booze for drinking. I have a chocolate cake recipe from Ina Garten that I prefer to this one so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ancu
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
10 stars! perfect cake, indeed! you must have it at room temeprature to really taste the perfection. I made it with an irish cream cheese frosting and covered it in chocolate ganache. I made two a week ago and I am making another one today for my son's birthday. He's turning 5 and he never ate cake(he was never interested ) until last week, after I made this cake. And he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This cake was awesome! I used chocolate fudge icing since I didn't have Bailey's on hand, but I definitely want to make the icing next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this recipe as cupcakes (24 in total) and they were AMAZING!! I don't even like beer but it gave the cake a wonderful flavor. I filled the cupcakes with the chocolate drizzle and topped with the frosting. The frosting was too thick for me to pipe onto the cupcakes so I folded in some fresh whipped cream. As cupcakes, the cooking time was 20 minutes. What a great recipe...thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by static667
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Its rare that I review anything, but this one deserves it. When I made the cake itself, I accidentally left out half of the butter. It didn't need it as it came out awesome. As for the ganache topping, my friend, and professional pastry chef and baker, suggested using Hershey's Special Dark chocolate chips rather than going through the hassle of chopping up bar chocolate. Lets say that it works like a champ. Great recipe. This will be a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wow, this was great! We preferred ours the next day after it sat in the refrigerator overnight. I did double the frosting since I planned to make 2 cakes instead of one cake with 2 layers but then I had leftovers (not necessarily a bad thing). I would recommend 1 1/2 recipes; this would be enough to easily cover both cakes but not have a lot left over. The cake was very moist and absolutely delicious! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States