Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Good, but sauce needs more of a savory flavor or something. Too sweet, even with reducing sugar to 1/2 cup instead of one cup. Next time I'll use just 1/4 cup & might add some ginger & extra soy sauce because it definitely needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this for dinner last night and doubled the recipe, I forgot you can change the # of people your making the recipe for, still a new user on the site. My family loved this recipe and asked that next time I make it I make more so they have left overs!! I followed the recipe exactly as is & it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
We absolutely loved this recipe. The only complaint we had was that it was too sweet. We are a very low sugar household but we wanted to try the recipe as is the first time. We will definitely be having this more often, but with less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I loved it! I didn't have sherry or chile paste but it still turns out delicious. I cut down the sugar to 1/4 cup like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandygirl238
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this...have made it before...perfect! today even when I didn't have enough cornstarch it still was really really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandygirl238

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nida Naeem
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Tried this great recipe today, just substituted 1 tbsp of orange juice & a drop of vanilla extract for sherry. I have to agree with others it was a little too sweet so next time I will cut the sugar measurement into half, for the sauce I nly used 2 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the mixture otherwise it would have been too thick and after frying the chicken I also dumped it into the sauce. Anyway, good recipe with a few modifications, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nida Naeem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The sauce turned out pretty good. I used a little too much of the cornstarch slurry though--next time I won't use all of it. Since I didn't have dark soy sauce on hand, I used regular soy sauce and added one green onion (whole) and a handful of mushrooms to the sauce as it boiled. I then removed the mushrooms and green onion before I added the cornstarch mixture. It helped the flavor quite a bit. Also, I subbed brown sugar for white (only 1/3 cup), it helped with the coloring. I also baked mine at 375 for 40 minutes as emilyjane928 suggested. Turned out to be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakomiKF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Just made this for the first time. I didn't have any chicken, so I used a cubed pork chop. The coating was amazing, and the sauce was truly delicious. The name suits this one. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was delicious and easy. I tripled it to take to a chinese theme community supper and it was the first one gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States