Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This is was good! I baked the chicken for 47 minutes at 375F and poured a bit of grape seed oil over the top before going in. It was moist and delicious! Next time I will not pour any oil over the top, there was no crust on my chicken and I had to blot off a lot of oil. I made the sauce as is, and it gets super thick. Next time I won't use as much cornstarch and less sugar. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
We loved this!! It is quite possibly the best sesame chicken I've ever had. I am a sauce person and with 2 pounds of chicken there was just enough sauce. There is no need to double the recipe, in fact, I think you can halve it if you are really only doing 1 pound. I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 of a cup and use rice vinegar in place of white vinegar and only used 1 Tablespoon of sesame oil. If you are not putting spicy chili paste in your sauce the sugar will be overwhelming and you may need to go even lower, it is the balance of sweet and spicy that in my opinion was so great in this recipe. I also only needed about 1/2 the cornstarch mixture to get my sauce to the thickness I wanted. It thickens quickly so just add a little at a time until it is what you want. It sits very nicely on a back burner on low waiting for you. Thank you soooo much Doreen for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I just sauteed the chicken, rather than deep fried it. I used 1/4 cup of sugar, and it was fantastic! I couldn't believe how quickly it was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Hubs & I thought the was good, not great. Our son however, absolutely loved it. I always try to make a recipe as written the first time, as I see that as the only fair way to rate something. That said, I did change the amount of sugar right off the bat - 1C just looked like way too much for the amount of liquid so I reduced it by half, figuring I could always add more if need be. Also, I made the slurry as written, but found that I didn't need to use it all. My sauce tightened up almost immediately with roughly 1/2 of the mixture. I followed all other sauce measurements, then tasted in order to assess flavor. Wow - was it sweet! If I ever made this again, I would cut the sugar even more, 1/3 or even 1/4C would probably be enough. I also found it a bit bland outside of the sweetness. Prior to serving, I added 2 tblsp rice vinegar & 2 additional tblsp soy which we felt perked it up nicely. The chicken itself was quite good - it fries up nicely with this batter, which is not too heavy. It came out tender and juicy with a light crisp. Overall, I'd make this again - with the changes mentioned it becomes more of a 4-star dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe if you are looking for a chinese food sesame chicken. Add less corn starch than the 1/4 cup then work your way up if you need more.. I did a couple tbsps of corn starch and that actually was enough. I doubled the sauce, the batter, and the chicken and it was perfect. Will be making it again. Had visitors over for dinner and it was all gone within 15 mins! should have made more! served it with broccoli and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is the best sesame seed chicken I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry McCrory
Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've always loved sesame chicken at restaurants and this was even BETTER!! The chicken was moist and melted in your mouth. I disagree with other reviews, it is NOT too sweet. It's perfect! I did double the sauce and was so glad I did. It covered the chicken and broccoli. I want to make the chicken alone and use it in a salad with a toasted sesame dressing for a light fare this summer. The batter was delish!! I do think though next time I make this I will add red pepper flakes to put a little zing into it and make even more memorable!! Thank you Doreen P!! This recipe will be emblazoned on my kitchen wall as a standing delight and treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I thought this was a really simple, straight-forward, good-tasting dish. I ended up making minor alterations (slightly more cornstarch and teaspoon of brown sugar for the sauce) but other than that, it was amazing. +5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Sauce was really sweet, but otherwise it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States