Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Marinade is good but not so for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meat Science Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was awesome! My family loved and is wondering if Ill be able to out do it. I'll admit I had to alter it a bit due to the large family. I doubled the sauce but only added a half cup extra. This will definitely be made again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was delicious! I only used about a 1/2 cup of sugar, and baked them instead of frying, turning halfway through. I also used a garlic chicken broth and didn't add extra garlic. The flavor is right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Wow was this good!! Made extra sauce but cut sugar back, was still plenty sweet. Perfect amount of spice, glad I didn'tsub out the real chili paste. To fry the chicken, I used the outdoor propane burner that came with a turkey fryer, and a cast iron skillet. Took the mess and smell outside, it was worth the work. Still would like a nice indoor fryer but that would encourage me to make more deep fried food! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I thought this was too sweet and not spicy enough, but is a good starting place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
The sauce is absolutely delicious. I did reduce the amount of sugar based on other reviews; I only used 3/4C. make sure and add the cornstarch/water mixture slowly for desired consistency. I find that if you boil and boil the sauce, the need for cornstarch reduces drastically. So boil, boil, boil and reduce to get the perfect consistency; doing this will reduce your need to add a little bit of cornstarch/water mixture. I will be making this recipe again and again. I had previously made the coating using a different recipe, but try this one. The chicken comes out nice and crispy yet moist inside. Very, very good. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
omy!!! This was delicious!! I always buy this from the local chinese rest. but now I will make it myself!! AND its alot cheaper to make! Thank you for this recipe! My family ate every bite, which is not often, lol, there is none left for tomorrow, lol..will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My husband rarely gets excited about food so when he said "this is efen awesome", I knew I had a keeper. I did sub half of the sugar with honey. I served with veggi fried rice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Just my personal taste, but I thought 2 tablespoons of sesame oil was overpowering. I didn't care much for the breading either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
First time I made this I made it exactly as directed and it was delicious! The second time I made it with a slightly thicker batter (2 extra tbs of flour), a little less sugar, and a little more vinegar (I used rice wine vinegar). I also made twice as much sauce to make sure we had plenty for blanched broccoli and more rice the next day. Make sure your oil is screaming hot and drop each piece in slowly to help keep it from sticking to your fry pan. I like to lower mine in piece by piece with tongs - it takes longer, but it's worth it not to have to scrub the pan later. Overall: I'm pretty sure my boyfriend is going to require me to make this at least once a week. I'm totally ok with that. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 501) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States