Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My family loved this. Here are some alterations I made: I didn't have chicken broth so I used water. I didn't have chile paste so I used crushed red pepper flakes (but I would use a little less next time because it was a bit spicy.) I also did not have sesame oil, but I did have walnut oil so I used that. I think you could use any oil really. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, instead of the 1 cup of white. I figured white would make it too sweet. The breading was pretty much null and void so the 1st step is more for flavoring I think, but that was fine with me. Made me feel like I was eating healthier. haha! My son came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra Appling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is totally a 5 star recipe in the Rose household. I made it 2 times in one week. I tweaked a few things after reading the reviews, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar and that was PLENTY, I used apple cider vinegar because that was what I had & I used Texas Pete hot sauce instead of chili paste. I also let my chicken sit in the fridge in the batter for about 30-45 minutes. I also didn't have to use all of the cornstarch for thickening. The second time I made this I omitted the sesame seeds and used finely sliced scallions/fresh green onions, we used to go to a Chinese restaurant that had scallion chicken & this was really close to it. We reheat leftovers the next day & it was even better. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe :-) ......I'm gonna make it again this week, I can't believe how much this tastes like the restaurant...well probably even better!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Bowles Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Wonderful sauce!! Due to limited time, I cheated and only made the sauce and poured it over popcorn chicken. Kids couldn't get enough! After reading the other comments, I did reduce the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup, and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARYATID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe is quite yummy, even my picky eaters liked it! Here's what I did differently due to time: I bought precooked breaded chunk chicken that heats up in the oven. While that was in the oven I made the sauce according to directions. When the chicken came out of the oven I poured them into a serving bowl then sprinkled sesame seeds over them and tossed. Then I poured the sauce over them and served with lo-mein and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly917
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I cooked for a family of 8 and it was gobbled up! I have to say, I followed the video and lessened the amount of sugar, wasn't for me! Next time I make it, a full cup of sugar will be added :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was excellent! Followed recipe to the letter. I used the how to video because of the adjustments that were made by others and it is absolutely perfect. I plated a layer of rice, oriental stir fry veggies, chicken then poured a healthy portion of sauce overall. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
tried the fried version and also tried baking it so it could be healthy both com out awesome Boss recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This was a great recipe, though I did make some changes. As others had suggested, I cut the sugar down to 3/4c, and used brown sugar instead of white. I also used sriacha instead of chile paste, just because I find chile paste easier to overdo and make it *way* too spicy. I also used a bottled teriyaki sauce instead of soy - only because I was out of soy sauce, but it was fantastic. Subbed rice wine vinegar for the white vinegar, and I think the dish turned out well. Husband inhaled it! Definitely a good recipe, and one that is easily modified to suit one's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Everyone loved it including the kids. Definitely will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Made this last night. Excellent. Thanks for the recipe. Made it as written minus the chili paste. Will be keeping this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States