Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have a corn and wheat allergy so this is what I did.... Mmmm.... I boiled a chicken and just shredded the meat to use instead of frying meat. I used the broth from it also. I substituted equal parts tapioca starch for the corn starch, omitted the chili paste, used regular soy sauce, garlic powder instead of garlic, added the sherry it called for into the sauce. I used only half the sugar it called for and I used "sugar in the raw." I also added chopped green onions to it and served it over cooked, riced cauliflower.) Yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
very good! we changed the recipe a little, used brown sugar and less cornstarch. we also skipped the wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyp

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This turned out to be one of the best tasting chicken recipes I've ever made. It was a bit labor intensive, but so worth it once you put that first piece of sweet sesame chicken in your mouth. I followed the recipe just as written, except didn't use a quart of oil, I only used about a cup and half, and probably could have used a bit less. I added in the cornstarch slurry just until it reached the thickness I desired, but that was almost the whole amount. I was leery of the amount of sugar, but it was "perfect" for us. I served with Lo Mein Noodles from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was amazing. Tasted better than a restaurant and I'm a terrible cook. I didn't have chili paste so I used sriracha. I also had 2 extra large chicken breasts and doubled the entire recipe. Next time I will only double the batter and use 1/2 the sugar in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My family loved this. Here are some alterations I made: I didn't have chicken broth so I used water. I didn't have chile paste so I used crushed red pepper flakes (but I would use a little less next time because it was a bit spicy.) I also did not have sesame oil, but I did have walnut oil so I used that. I think you could use any oil really. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, instead of the 1 cup of white. I figured white would make it too sweet. The breading was pretty much null and void so the 1st step is more for flavoring I think, but that was fine with me. Made me feel like I was eating healthier. haha! My son came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra Appling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is totally a 5 star recipe in the Rose household. I made it 2 times in one week. I tweaked a few things after reading the reviews, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar and that was PLENTY, I used apple cider vinegar because that was what I had & I used Texas Pete hot sauce instead of chili paste. I also let my chicken sit in the fridge in the batter for about 30-45 minutes. I also didn't have to use all of the cornstarch for thickening. The second time I made this I omitted the sesame seeds and used finely sliced scallions/fresh green onions, we used to go to a Chinese restaurant that had scallion chicken & this was really close to it. We reheat leftovers the next day & it was even better. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe :-) ......I'm gonna make it again this week, I can't believe how much this tastes like the restaurant...well probably even better!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Wonderful sauce!! Due to limited time, I cheated and only made the sauce and poured it over popcorn chicken. Kids couldn't get enough! After reading the other comments, I did reduce the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup, and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARYATID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe is quite yummy, even my picky eaters liked it! Here's what I did differently due to time: I bought precooked breaded chunk chicken that heats up in the oven. While that was in the oven I made the sauce according to directions. When the chicken came out of the oven I poured them into a serving bowl then sprinkled sesame seeds over them and tossed. Then I poured the sauce over them and served with lo-mein and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly917
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I cooked for a family of 8 and it was gobbled up! I have to say, I followed the video and lessened the amount of sugar, wasn't for me! Next time I make it, a full cup of sugar will be added :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was excellent! Followed recipe to the letter. I used the how to video because of the adjustments that were made by others and it is absolutely perfect. I plated a layer of rice, oriental stir fry veggies, chicken then poured a healthy portion of sauce overall. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States