Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
The sauce is absolutely delicious. I did reduce the amount of sugar based on other reviews; I only used 3/4C. make sure and add the cornstarch/water mixture slowly for desired consistency. I find that if you boil and boil the sauce, the need for cornstarch reduces drastically. So boil, boil, boil and reduce to get the perfect consistency; doing this will reduce your need to add a little bit of cornstarch/water mixture. I will be making this recipe again and again. I had previously made the coating using a different recipe, but try this one. The chicken comes out nice and crispy yet moist inside. Very, very good. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
omy!!! This was delicious!! I always buy this from the local chinese rest. but now I will make it myself!! AND its alot cheaper to make! Thank you for this recipe! My family ate every bite, which is not often, lol, there is none left for tomorrow, lol..will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
My husband rarely gets excited about food so when he said "this is efen awesome", I knew I had a keeper. I did sub half of the sugar with honey. I served with veggi fried rice. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Just my personal taste, but I thought 2 tablespoons of sesame oil was overpowering. I didn't care much for the breading either. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
First time I made this I made it exactly as directed and it was delicious! The second time I made it with a slightly thicker batter (2 extra tbs of flour), a little less sugar, and a little more vinegar (I used rice wine vinegar). I also made twice as much sauce to make sure we had plenty for blanched broccoli and more rice the next day. Make sure your oil is screaming hot and drop each piece in slowly to help keep it from sticking to your fry pan. I like to lower mine in piece by piece with tongs - it takes longer, but it's worth it not to have to scrub the pan later. Overall: I'm pretty sure my boyfriend is going to require me to make this at least once a week. I'm totally ok with that. Superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is amazing! The sauce ends up to be a little think for my mom's liking, so I don't normally use all of the rough. But Amazing recipe, I normally serve on rice with steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I'm not much of a cook myself and this recipe looked a little intimidating at first but i gave it go. And i can't believe how easy it was. The chili paste, sesame oil, and sesame seeds are very hard to find in American grocery stores. So for chili paste i substituted chili powder and water. For sesame oil i substituted olive oil. and for sesame seeds i used Parmesan cheese. And it came out excellent...Very restaurant like. I will be making this again soon. Tim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This really is the best sesame chicken recipe ever. I have been searching for a long time for this! I read other reviews and followed their advice on the reducing the sugar and cornstarch mix, which I would def. recommend. The chicken turns out perfect and the sauce is to die for...I make this at least once a week now. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My fiance loved it; I just thought the flavors didn't marry together completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensentwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States