Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
The sauce turned out pretty good. I used a little too much of the cornstarch slurry though--next time I won't use all of it. Since I didn't have dark soy sauce on hand, I used regular soy sauce and added one green onion (whole) and a handful of mushrooms to the sauce as it boiled. I then removed the mushrooms and green onion before I added the cornstarch mixture. It helped the flavor quite a bit. Also, I subbed brown sugar for white (only 1/3 cup), it helped with the coloring. I also baked mine at 375 for 40 minutes as emilyjane928 suggested. Turned out to be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakomiKF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Just made this for the first time. I didn't have any chicken, so I used a cubed pork chop. The coating was amazing, and the sauce was truly delicious. The name suits this one. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was delicious and easy. I tripled it to take to a chinese theme community supper and it was the first one gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
This sesame chicken was very tasty, but I agree with some reviewers that the sauce is too sweet and thick. I used 3/4 of the sugar indicated in the recipe (and 50% more vinegar) and my family found it to be too sweet (and we love sesame chicken). The deep fried chicken, by itself, is outstanding. I think the sauce would benefit from a few tweaks, such as less sugar, more soy sauce and vinegar, less cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Excellent. The only change I made was adding a bit of rice flour since I had more than 1 lb of chicken and was concerned that I might not have enough batter to cover it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this for the 3rd time tonight. Followed the recipe exactly except for the sherry, but that was because I did not have any on hand, but the chicken tasted delicious without it!!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Fantastic! My Family loved it. It was crispy and delicious. I fallowed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. The sauce was very sweet but in a good way. I had kids sneaking into the kitchen to stick their fingers in the sauce bowl when I wasn't looking and I didn't have enough chicken yesterday so am cooking some for today to use up the sauce which is still fantastic the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Just made this recipe tonight and....it was a HIT!!! Cooked it for a family of seven and they loved it! Posted pics of the finished product on fb and ppl immediately hit "like" and asked me for the recipe! It was very delicious. I followed the recipe to the tee and it was very flavorful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joykam4eva
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States