Perfect Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
For all those negative reviewers out there that complain there is no sugar in the pie, that's what the sweetened condensed milk is for. No, this pie is not very sweet, it actually showcases pumpkin, not sugar. I will say I do tweak the recipe slightly, only because I like LOTS of spice in my pie. I double just about everything except the nutmeg and I add plenty of cloves, to me it just isn't pumpkin pie without cloves. For those who complained that the pie is grainy, you didn't beat the ingredients together thoroughly. Same with the people who said a skin formed on top. You really have to beat the heck out of this but when you do it's a great pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Heiderich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
those that say the recipe is bland and needs sugar are most likely using regular condensed milk, you need to use eagle brand sweetened condensed milk, easy to make wonderful pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Better pie with sweetened condensed milk vs. evaporated milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Best pumpkin pie ever! Just sweet enough. Easy to fix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
family loved it! very simple! my 10 year old made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
SWEETENED condensed milk, if you use the proper ingredients then the pie is perfectly sweet and delicious. If you use evaporated milk it does lack sweetness. Before you go bashing a recipe, make sure YOU are using the correct ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dega

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Excellent. I followed the directions with a couple modifications based on prior reviews. I heated the pumpkin with the spices first. I changed the spices to just 2t of pumpkin pie spice and 1t of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe is the best. To those who said you need to add sugar,you are probably using evaporated milk. The sugar is in the Borden's so no additional sugar is necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Campbell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Love this pumpkin pie recipe! I always add cloves as well as extra spice. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This wasnt a bad pie. We didn't use sweetened condensed milk, but used regular condensed milk. Also we added 3/4 cup of brown sugar. It came out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States