Perfect Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Delicious! This is an easy tip and makes a big difference in taste - in a medium pan over low heat, heat up the canned pumpkin puree, spices, and salt. Heating the pumpkin puree up takes out the "canned" taste of the pumpkin and melds the spices together nicely. Then, pour the mixture out into another bowl, and let it cool a bit before adding the condensed milk and eggs. This little change makes the pumpkin taste much fresher! My family loves this recipe, and I use a ready-made graham cracker crust, so easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2762 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This is the best pumpkin pie recipe! I get rave reviews on it every year. I always use a ready-made graham cracker crust, and it comes out great. One suggestion is to let the pie cool on the oven rack, because it cools more slowly that way. If you take it out onto the kitchen counter, the filling sometimes cracks because of the cold air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
Outstanding Flavor and very easy to make. Two combinations I love. A very sweet pie, nice appearance, and make sure to top it off with whipped cream. This recipe is by far a 5 star!! Tips: I did not use the ginger nor the nutmeg; instead I added 2 teaspoons of "McCormik's Pumpkin Pie Spice" (which includes: Cinnamon, Ginger, Nutmeg, and Allspice), along with the 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. My wife loved it but she thought it needed more cinnamon. So I made the next one with 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and she loved it. If you like a lot of cinnamon, that's the way to go. For me, I preferred 1 teaspoon, but I'd eat it either way. Thanks EAGLE BRAND®
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
642 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norris, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I have never made pumpkin pie before...us Australians don't eat pumpkin pie. But I am now a convert...you guys in the U.S of A are sooo clever. I want to make and eat pumpkin pie breakfast ...lunch...and dinner !!! I can't believe we don't make this over here...I am going to make it for Christmas Day again for all our visitors...if i can keep my husband and myself away from the pies for just long enough to let the visitors have a slice or 2 each. WAY BEYOND YUMMY ...HEAVENLY and DIVINE are words that come to mind. I wonder if i should go down the street and buy another butternut pumpkin and make one more before Christmas Day...they say practise makes perfect lol. We don't have tinned pumpkin or pumpkin spice over here so I have to do everything myself...but maybe that makes it even nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
391 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lennox Head, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is a very tasty, traditional pumpkin pie. I used fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned pumpkin, which I would recommend because it is fresher and gives more texture. Also, if you are using a homemade pie crust, I recommend you bake it a tad before adding the filling. Otherwise, the crust will get mushy. I cooked my pie for almost an hour (cooking time varies)and then, cooked for 15 minutes on the very bottom rack to finish the cooking of my crust while also lightly browing the top of the pie. You end up with a perfectly spiced product, perfect with Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner (or anytime you crave it!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
The easiest and best pumpkin pie I've ever made. I followed a suggestion that someone else had made and used 2tsp of pumpkin pie spice and 2tsp of ground cinnamon instead. The bottom of my crust was still a tad underdone so I would suggest pre-baking the crust for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very good pie. I always have soggy crust so I Bake the crust a tad before putting the filling in, I also let the pie cool in the oven. I also like it a bit spicier so a little extra spice makes it extra well for me (I like ground cloves in mine as well). I make extra filling and overfill deeper pans and bake the extra filling in oven with the pies for that special taste for the cook. Maple syrup also adds real nice flavor. How I make it depends on my mood. Often I make several and make one spicy and one not for different taste to please all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kath
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I have been baking pies using this recipe for years, and the requests keep coming in for me to make more and more. My brother alone gets two - one to share with the family and one just for himself *grin* This year alone I made 10 pies, and plan on making 5 more for Christmas. Definitely a big hit, and I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This pie tastes perfect and it is very easy to make. It is the only pumpkin pie recipe I will ever use! I recommend doubling the ammount of spice and using freshly grated ginger root unless you like your pumpkin pies very mellow. Don't forget to protect that crust with foil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I recently made two pies for my cousin, who requests this as his birthday gift every year. I usually make them with pumpkin pie mix from the can, eggs and evaporated milk, the trad. recipe I was taught. This year I came across this recipe on the McCormick Pumpkin Pie Spice label. So, I made one of each and I put them to the test. This recipe using the sweet. cond. milk & McCormick spices was definately the winner! It is so easy and so wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States