Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This exceeded our expectations. My father said it was "the best roast he ever had!". So tender for 45 minutes! The only think I did outside the recipe is to use 2 gravy packets instead of one. We made gravy with the drippings that was to die for! Thanks for sharing this recipe and now I love my pressure cooker, can't wait to try more things in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Followed this recipe verbatim and it turned out "Ok." Between the gravy mix and the dressing mix, that's a lot of sodium. I'll do this one again, eliminating one, the other, or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
This is an excellent recipe, The personal touches I gave were: using reduced sodium beef broth & reduced sodium brown gravy mix. I also followed one of the reviewers & cooked meat for 30 min, added 3 lg potato & 6 lg carrots & cooked for an add'l 15 min. I thickeed the gravy w/ a small amount of milk/flour mixture. It was a great tasty dinner that'll I will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Since finding this recipe, I decided it's the only way to cook roast. You can't mess up with the simple ingredients. It's fast and the roast turns out tender and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this in the crockpot instead of the pressure cooker,and it was great. I used red wine for the liquid and added some beef base to get a beefier flavor. I put in whole cremini mushrooms and added some chopped red bell pepper. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was delicious. I added only a tiny bit of extra salt, and it was not too salty. Hubby kept saying how good it was. I did use a rump roast instead of chuck - less fatty and it was on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The only change I made was to use non-fat, low sodium beef broth. The roast came out perfectly. It's the first time I've made pot roast in my pressure cooker and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
First tried the recipe, following it to the letter. Just tried it again this evening with a two adjustments: First added 1C of Austrailian Shiraz (any red wine will do). Second: Added whole, small red potatoes on top of the meat. cooked for 60 minutes under pressure. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Sutherland
Home Town: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is an exceptionally good recipe and is easy with the pressure cooker. I typically make it with mixing all the dry packets together using only half and saving the other half for the
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipie is definately one that I will be making til the end of time. I did make some adjustments though. I eyeballed about 2 cups of a cabernet sauvignon to the rest of the braising ingredients. Because of all the sodium in the seasonings, I also added about 1 to 1 1/2 cups of water. The wine made it 5 star! If you live near a Trader Joe's, they have a SUPER cheap but VERY tasty C.S. called Charles Shaw or better known as "2 buck chuck!" Enjoy! PS: Turn the heat off about 8 minutes before the timer goes off. TRUST ME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was wonderful. The only thing I did slightly different was add veggies.After about 40 minutes in the pressure cooker I took it off the heat, removed the meat. Added peeled red potato halves, 1 celery stick sliced, and carrots. Along with 1 1/2 cups additional beef broth.Placed the meat back on top brought pressure back up, reduced heat to low/med and cooked 30mins. I made gravy with the remaining juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cosby, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Pressure Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a wonderfully tender roast in your pressure cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States