Perfect Pie Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
it was a hit with the kids,,,they ate it with whip cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAMSWEET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This pie crust rolled out velvety smooth and was an absolute pleasure to work with. The crust is slightly sweet with a hint of lemon. This has to be one of the flakiest, most tender pie crusts I've ever made, and it will be my go-to crusts for fruit pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I agree with the other reviewers that this pie crust is absolutely wonderful. Great taste, texture, AND very easy to work with. I use this recipe to make Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings by Micki. If you're making pie crust for the first time, this is a good one to start with...you can't mess it up. It's super easy and super delicious. Your diners will be impressed. I used all butter...no shortening (my family can't have shortening). And when I cut the recipe in half, I beat one egg, and simply pour half of it down the drain. I use King Arthur all-purpose unbleached, unbromated white flour. Absolutely delicious! Thank you SO very much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I used butter but it turned out great! Nice flaky crust. It was so easy too I could hardly believe it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Mackintosh
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
We used all butter. It turned out great! A simple, reliable, easy to handle pie crust. Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I used this recipe for ALL of our Thanksgiving pies and they turned out great! I also used it for a chicken pot pie (I cut the sugar in half), also awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
My first attempt at pie crust, and it turned out great! I had been nervous to try, but it was painless! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
very good and easy pie crust I made it to go with the "grandma's lemon meringue pie" on this site. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This crust was very easy. I complicated things by scaling the recipe to four servings. Then I used it to make three mini-pies in individual pie tins. I made two blueberry and one apricot. They were a hit. I used all butter and the Fresh Blueberry Pie II filling on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I find this pie crust beautiful, but I'm perplexed by the recipe instructions. I don't understand gently stirring the butter and shortening into the flour with a fork and this created quite a chunky mess. There were bits of shortening and flour well after kneading for 10 minutes! All the same, it makes a fine pie crust and it's very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beaubrent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States