Perfect Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was the first pie crust that I made that tasted good and was very easy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Collins

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
GREAT RECIPE...I have been using it for years and get Rave reviews on the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nokesville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Linden, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
really great pie pastry, it handles easily!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I avoid making pie crusts like the plague. Every recipe I've tried comes out sticky and messy - but this one was absolutely perfect! I cut this recipe down and made two large crusts (more like 2 and a half) for a strawberry pie am just kicking myself for not making my own crust sooner. Very easy, very tasty - this truely is a perfect pie crust!! One trick I learned when it comes to pie crusts... before you start, put one or two pieces of plastic wrap on the counter top so that the plastic is a bit larger than the finished pie. Then roll the pie out as normal - but instead of having to worry about it sticking to the counter, you can just pick it up by the plastic wrap and turn it over into your pie pan. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Look no further than this recipe- just perfect. I have spent years avoiding home made pie crust and after a disasterous run in with a store bought crust, I decided to go for it. Parred down the recipe to (2) pie crusts and followed the recipe to a T. It was perfect with my peach/blackberry pie and I received many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I changed the recipe to serve 12. I did not use 1/2 the water called for with the egg yolk and the dough was very sticky. I remade it again using the right amount of water and it came out great. Don't forget to adjust the amount of water when adjusting the recipe..Jo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Wonderful! I cut the recipe in half and used it for Blueberry Banana Cream Cheese Pie from this site and everyone raved about it! The only changes I made was using whole wheat pastry flour, which made it healthier too. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I found my new favorite pie crust. Easy to make, and tastes great! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This is a great recipe for pie crust. If I can make it, and it tastes good, anyone can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I am so pleased to have found this recipe. I like pie crust, but I don't like most pie crust if that makes sense. I have been looking for years for a recipe that tastes good and I have finally found it. As a bonus, this crust is so easy to work with, I was able to pick it up and turn it as I rolled it in order to make a more perfect circle. I had no problems with tearing or stretching. This is the softest nicest crust I have ever worked with. This is also the first crust I was able to be patient enough with that I could make decorative edges on my pie. I also used the crust to make a lattice top on each of my pies and I had no issues with cracking when I bent the pieces to weave them, or with sticking when I picked them up off the table. In short, this is how pie crust should be. You may find that you need to add more water, a spoonful at a time until the dough holds together. I also substituted powdered sugar for the white sugar the second time I made the crust and I will keep doing this in the future. Finally, I also substituted butter for 2/3 of the shortening and still had a beautiful flaky crust. Also, this recipe makes more than enough dough for 2, 2 crust pies. I imagine it would be sufficient for 1 more 1 crust pie. We used our two cookie sheets worth of scraps as cookies with cinnamon sugar. yum. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States