Perfect Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Best! Tasty and flaky! Easy for beginners. Not intimidating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
For some reason I followed all the steps and the crust was a little to dry so it would slit when I rolled it out. I am not too good at making pie crusts so maybe its just me :) Next time I will follow my instict because I kind of found it a little dry...but it was good and turned out not so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette from Quebec, Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
this was and easy to make pie crust that flattered the pie it held. i will definetly use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Scary as it was, I was forced to make a pie crust this year, as none of the pre-made ones were available here. I've had terrible results before, but this one was tasty! It was OK to make, but I had to keep adding liquid as it was quite dry and wouldn't stick together. The suggested part apple juice/part water was a great idea. WHEW! Finally a crust I now won't "sweat" about making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdeB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Stopped using shortening years ago, so used 1 cup salted, 1/2 cup unsalted butter and WOW! First time I ever loved leftover pie crust. I ate it all and went for more! Also, carefully floured and rerolled excess to make two more pies - one 8inch. one 9inch. A big hit at thanksgiving dinner and thereafter. Perfect Pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Not perfect. A little tough and cookie like. I made pies for Thanksgiving and saw people sawing with their forks to get through the crust to the plate. No one complained but they definitely had a struggle that should not come from eating a piece of pie! This recipe makes alot of dough. I rolled two crusts and still had enough to make three large discs to freeze. I will use those up but not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I've tried several pie crust recipes with mixed results. This pie crust recipe was very consistent, easy to roll and work with. I chilled the shortening (based on other recipes). I'm not sure if chilling helped or not. The recipe works well for me as I often bake a single crust pumpkin pie with a fruit pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Indeed a perfect pie crust. Not soggy nor tasteless but perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
THIS PIE CRUST IS VERY EASY TO WORK WITH AND EASY TO MAKE ALSO TASTES GOOD FILLED WITH GRANDMA OPALS APPLE PIE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Nice crust and easy to work. I use a cup of shortening and 1/2 cup butter for the flaky and richness I prefer. I used this for an apple pie I made with my daughter. We also sprinkled Cinnamon on top. Cinnamon makes everything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States