Perfect Pie Crust I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
best pie crust i've made to date. Family loves it, easy to work with, just the right sweetness. Definitely a keeper!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greatbaker12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
YUM! I have made this about 4 times now. Each time I messed with the shortening/butter ratio. I have come to find reducing the amount of shortening to 3/4c and adding 3/4c salted butter makes for a wonderful flaky crust perfect for almost any pie. It was simply wonderful for a chicken pot pie I made too! Thank You so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and found the crust to be great in both sweet and savory dishes. I used another users suggestion of placing Cling Wrap on my work surface to assist with crust transfers. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a really easy recipe that is slightly sweet and perfect for desserts! I found it to be the best crust I've ever made! I found that it needed more water than the recipe called for. It turned out that I needed about 1 1/4 cups of water instead of just one. You can also add half shortening and half butter. It affects the consistency. (Butter makes it flakier.) When you make this, make sure that the shortening is COLD and the water is ICE COLD. This REALLY helps!! I hope you enjoy this recipe! I know I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This looks amazingly yummy! I cant wait to make it:) I am only eleven and i love to cook, this looks like a really yummy and easy recipe that i HAVE TO MAKE!!:)Thank you for this recipe:))I am honestly not a big fan of pie crust but I LOVE this one! All the others are dry and flaky and not yummy.. But this one isn't so thank you very much:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I don't even like pie crust beyond its uses as a vehicle for tasty fillings, but this one is absolutely delicious. I actually liked it more than the rest of the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
LOVED this recipe! I dumped all the dry ingredients together in my food processor and then added the shortening and then added the egg & water. It tastes great and my family loved it! We used this for our beef pasties and it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
It would not stick together even under the rolling pen. Will try it one more time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have never successfully made pie crust before. I am so excited to have finally found a recipe that made it super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States