Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
We really enjoyed this recipe! Great flavor, texture, all around delicious! Very impressive. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This recipie was awesome. Thanks Laura. I used 12oz of crawfish meat in place of the Lobster and it turned out really good. I also used some corn startch to thicken it. We had high expectations and they were met!!!! Yummy!!! I will definatly make this again...and again..and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This bisque is soooooo good. Just like at my favorite restaurant. Simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I love this recipe! My husband said it's better than what he has had at restaurants. I have already made this several times and will pull out this recipe when I want to make it a very special dinner. I've even made it once without the mushrooms and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaKGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is the best soup I've ever made. Very easy and wouldn't change a thing. It's not a very thick bisque but has incredible flavor. I used crab meat instead of lobster and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I've used this recipe with some modifications based on all of the reader reviews & it always comes out great. I use my hand blender to blend the vegetables & seafood, because I found that transferring to the countertop blender was too messy. Also, I add clam juice instead of broth, as it gives it more of a seafood flavor, and I skip the wine. I also use just celery & onions and not the carrots & mushrooms. I also use imitation crab & lobster meat sometimes, or throw in scallops and/or shrimp. The base is excellent, and the cayenne pepper gives it just enough kick! I forgot to mention that I also add a small can of tomato paste and blend it with the vegetables and broth/clam juice. It helps thicken the bisque a bit and also gives it more flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this for friends who love Lobster bisque, 20 of them, and it got rave reviews. I used the Shells to flavor the soup and strained it through a sieve, chopped up the tail meat and sauted with butter for a garnish and it was a huge success. Otherwise followed the recipe. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
One of the best I have ever had! I did add a little more cayenne pepper to spice it up just a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS! I was very nervous to try a somewhat expensive recipe just to botch it up. This was not the case. I used heavy cream instead of half and half in an attempt to thicken the bisque (I think a flour/water mixture would also do the trick). For the wine, I used a basic white port purchased at the liquor store. My boyfriend and I really liked it and I'm sure I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was a great recipe! My fiance thought it was so much better than the upscale restaurant here in town...the only things I did differently from the recipe was to add some roasted red bell pepper strips (from a jar) during the simmering, then used sherry instead of white wine (just to taste...don't measure too often!). I swear I could have eaten the broth prior to adding the lobster! Absolutely fantastic, and so quick & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States