Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My husband made this, including modifications but wanted to share. He left out the carrots and mushrooms and used canned crab instead of lobster and it turned out FABULOUS! The only reason I'm including our modifications (and believe me when I read them it drives me crazy) I just wanted to say that the core of this recipe is fantastic and can handle any minor changes that may be needed. Loved it and will definitely use it again, with everything next time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I added a tin of tomato paste to the blender as was suggested in many other posts, it turned out perfectly! The thickness was just right, i followed the recipe to a T, no need for extra thickening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Not bad. I was trying to recreate a crab bisque I had on vacation even though this called for lobster the rest of the flavors looked the most promising so I gave it a whirl. And while this was close in flavor it was not in texture. Even though the process would not be easy to do I think straining the pureed mixture would really help. I will make it again, but next time try to strain it to get an even smoother texture because texture can make or break a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
not at all like a resturants version. Tasted like "chicken" soup w/ chunks of lobster thrown in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I tried it at home, and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good. Try Dry Sherry instead of wine! Dry Sherry was made to go with seafood dishes. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My mother in law was coming over for dinner and I wanted to make something special. I went to the local asian supermarket and bought a live Maine lobster to use. I followed the recipe to a T minus the wine. My mother in law is a recovering alcoholic and won't even eat things made with alcohol. So I substituted with chicken broth. This was by far the best lobster bisque I have ever had! We served it exactly as you said, with hot bread and butter, and a salad. Absoulutely wonderful!!!!! If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I have made this with half and half and with heavy cream. I prefer it with heavy cream and a shorter simmering time, but either way it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
With the following changes, you'll never want for another seafood bisque recipe! I used just 8 oz chicken broth and for the remaining liquid I reserved the juice from the lobster and added clam juice to make up the difference. I then whisked in 3oz tomato paste and put it all in the soup. I used 1/4 c white wine (instead of 1/2c) and 1/4c sherry. It was ABSOLUTELY incredible! *Works well with crab as well or a lobster/crab combo.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Fixed for a crowd serving Bruschetta and salad with it. It was a hit but I personally will omit the wine or try a different wine other wise the recipe is delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States