Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very good. Try Dry Sherry instead of wine! Dry Sherry was made to go with seafood dishes. will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My mother in law was coming over for dinner and I wanted to make something special. I went to the local asian supermarket and bought a live Maine lobster to use. I followed the recipe to a T minus the wine. My mother in law is a recovering alcoholic and won't even eat things made with alcohol. So I substituted with chicken broth. This was by far the best lobster bisque I have ever had! We served it exactly as you said, with hot bread and butter, and a salad. Absoulutely wonderful!!!!! If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I have made this with half and half and with heavy cream. I prefer it with heavy cream and a shorter simmering time, but either way it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
With the following changes, you'll never want for another seafood bisque recipe! I used just 8 oz chicken broth and for the remaining liquid I reserved the juice from the lobster and added clam juice to make up the difference. I then whisked in 3oz tomato paste and put it all in the soup. I used 1/4 c white wine (instead of 1/2c) and 1/4c sherry. It was ABSOLUTELY incredible! *Works well with crab as well or a lobster/crab combo.*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Fixed for a crowd serving Bruschetta and salad with it. It was a hit but I personally will omit the wine or try a different wine other wise the recipe is delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPoirier22
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Delicious! Based on the other reviews, we skipped the wine, used clam broth for chicken broth, 1/2 a can of tomato paste, and 1/2 the cayenne. Next time we'll double the recipe for 6 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this a few days ago, and it was great! I used clam juice instead of chicken broth and added some cooking Sherry and tomato paste as suggested by other reviewers and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The 1/2 cup of wine is WAY too much. It ruined the bisque.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadsolomon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
you will have to make alot of changes to this recipe, so i am not sure why it has rated so high. I chose to make this recipe exactly as directed and without any extras. Although the taste of the lobster bisque was very nice, i could not get the butter to cook in it just sat on top of the soup. As well the soup itself was very thin and runny, not thick as it sould be. As long as you have time to be creative i am sure that this could eventually be a nice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was a wonderful bisque! I left out the mushrooms, used a bottle of clam juice and half the chicken broth, added 1/2 can tomato sauce and used crawfish tails instead of lobster. Huge hit - the pot was scraped clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States