Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I am a Lobster bisque fanatic. I eat it at every restaurant I can. This is one of the best I have ever eaten. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I used a pound of lobster tail, half of which I used in the blender, as I wanted a strong lobster tasting bisque. I also added ½ cup more of each of the liquids. I used a Vitamix to bring it to temp which also gave me a very smooth rich creamy broth.. The two of us ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tukaussey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I made this for New Years Eve and my guests were gushing and couldn't get enough. I have never made a bisque before and it was very simple. I doubled the recipe, used heavy cream, and more broth then it called for. When I simmered the carrots and celery I added the lobster shells to give it more flavor. I then put all the ingredients, besides the lobster chunks of meat that I reserved, in a blender, and blended it. I chilled the blended bisque right in the blender and an hour before my party I put it in my crockpot, added the lobster chunks, and corn. I served it with a Caesar and a baguette just like the recipe called for and it became an empty crockpot pretty quickly. My friends all want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Williston, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I've used this recipe with some modifications the big one is adding lobster base to bring out the flavor of the lobster more. I also used shiitake mushrooms to give it that earthy, meaty flavor. I also used a food processors to cut up half of the lobster that keeps it from becoming baby food from the blender. As for the thickness you could make a roux to thicken it. Just make sure to cook it a bit before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nadiajc
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made it with the recommended changes: tomato paste, half wine/ half sherry, subbed whipping cream and added a little corn starch. I also did not use chicken stock since I had made a lobster stock with the shells. It was excellent with the changes, I think it would have been too watery and bland otherwise but good base recipe. Super easy. Also, I use Pinot Grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I added asparagus and swapped the white wine for sherry. I topped each bowl with an extra sprinkle of cayenne. This soup was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Disappointed. Made exactly as stated, but used crab instead of lobster because that is what was available fresh. I was really hopeful with this since it sounded easy & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent w some minor changes. I used the meat from 8 frozen lobster claws. I simmered the shells in the chicken broth for about 30 min. to flavor the broth. Otherwise followed the recipe with two minor exceptions ... I added about 1 table spoon of all purpose flour in the final preparation for thickening and a dash of cognac.Sinally finished it off with a pinch of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
ehhh.... I followed this recipe exact and ended up having to doctor it up some... Not too much flavoring and way too thin. Not sure if I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I've been wanting to make lobster bisque for years. It's one of our favorites things to eat at home in St. Martin's finer restaurants. This was wonderful!! I can't wait until my Fiance goes lobster diving again so I can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States