Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This recipie was awesome. Thanks Laura. I used 12oz of crawfish meat in place of the Lobster and it turned out really good. I also used some corn startch to thicken it. We had high expectations and they were met!!!! Yummy!!! I will definatly make this again...and again..and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this for friends who love Lobster bisque, 20 of them, and it got rave reviews. I used the Shells to flavor the soup and strained it through a sieve, chopped up the tail meat and sauted with butter for a garnish and it was a huge success. Otherwise followed the recipe. good luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This bisque is soooooo good. Just like at my favorite restaurant. Simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I love this recipe! My husband said it's better than what he has had at restaurants. I have already made this several times and will pull out this recipe when I want to make it a very special dinner. I've even made it once without the mushrooms and it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaKGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
DELICIOUS! I was very nervous to try a somewhat expensive recipe just to botch it up. This was not the case. I used heavy cream instead of half and half in an attempt to thicken the bisque (I think a flour/water mixture would also do the trick). For the wine, I used a basic white port purchased at the liquor store. My boyfriend and I really liked it and I'm sure I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is the best soup I've ever made. Very easy and wouldn't change a thing. It's not a very thick bisque but has incredible flavor. I used crab meat instead of lobster and it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I've used this recipe with some modifications based on all of the reader reviews & it always comes out great. I use my hand blender to blend the vegetables & seafood, because I found that transferring to the countertop blender was too messy. Also, I add clam juice instead of broth, as it gives it more of a seafood flavor, and I skip the wine. I also use just celery & onions and not the carrots & mushrooms. I also use imitation crab & lobster meat sometimes, or throw in scallops and/or shrimp. The base is excellent, and the cayenne pepper gives it just enough kick! I forgot to mention that I also add a small can of tomato paste and blend it with the vegetables and broth/clam juice. It helps thicken the bisque a bit and also gives it more flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
One of the best I have ever had! I did add a little more cayenne pepper to spice it up just a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was a great recipe! My fiance thought it was so much better than the upscale restaurant here in town...the only things I did differently from the recipe was to add some roasted red bell pepper strips (from a jar) during the simmering, then used sherry instead of white wine (just to taste...don't measure too often!). I swear I could have eaten the broth prior to adding the lobster! Absolutely fantastic, and so quick & simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
We really enjoyed this recipe! Great flavor, texture, all around delicious! Very impressive. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States