Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was a great way to use up leftover lobster. I had to use condensed milk since I had no half-and-half. I also didn't have any chicken broth, so I added a can of bar clams with their juice. I also added a chili pepper, a clove of garlic and a tablespoon of tomato paste. It was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This recipe is great, but I did make a few modifications. First I chopped all the veggies together in a food processor. I then sauted them for a few minutes while I was chopping up the lobster. I did place some of the lobster in the food processor to get a noce texture for the bisque. I left the remaining lobster in slightly bigger chunks to make the bisque a little hardier. All in all the recipe came out great and I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
used fresh lobsters and boiled the chick broth with the lobster shells for a while. Great flavor...excellent. Could have been a little thicker and may make a small rue first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hwilliam01
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Perfect base bisque. I played with some ingredients, to the veg ingredients I added some cilantro, chili peppers and chopped clams in there juice. I used the clam juice to substitute for the chicken broth, I used a 1/8 of salt & an 1/8 of chili powder and 4 pressed garlic cloves. It gave it a mellow bite and needless to say"It was bangin" This dish will definitely be appearing on my table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H-Man

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My husband and I had this dinner tonight and this is an easy and delicious recipe. As suggested by others, I added more mushroom,carrots, celery, garlic than called for because without it would have been like water. Also, I added 3/4 can of tomato paste which is absolutely neccessary, as is the cayenne pepper. I changed none of the liquid ingredients. This is definitely a keeper. Oh, almost forgot. Besides the 1 lb. fresh lobster, I added 7 large shrimp and a can of lump crab meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
great recipe, i think it is some work but good, i put 2 stalks of celery, 2 carrots, 2 tbsp of mushroom, 3/4 onion, tomato paste 6 oz, and i used a live lobster, i let it cook in the sauce till done, and then i picked meat from the lobster. let some of the body of the lobster marinate in the cooking process, and i also used clam juice, it is very tasty, and can be expensive, for special occassions, i will make again , thank you from florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
i give this recipe 4 stars because i , like other reviewers altered the recipe some. i omitted the celery and mushrooms,added 4 oz. of tomatoe paste, a splash of clam juice and doubled the cayenne pepper, oh and used whole milk in place of the half and half. everyone loved it and raved about it. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is the Perfect Lobster Bisque. It was a plus that I had my own home-made lobster stock to add. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Fantastic recipe! My only issue was a minor mistake of the Cayenne pepper slipping and an undetermined amount of cayenne went into the soup. I did manage to scoop some out,however a good amount remained in it. Everyone was very impressed and asked for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I found the soup a little thin (perhaps it's my personal liking), so I started in another pot with a roux base (4 TBS each butter, flour and some milk) and added it to the soup. It's a WOW! My family and guests loved it. Thanks for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States