Perfect Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I've used this recipe with some modifications the big one is adding lobster base to bring out the flavor of the lobster more. I also used shiitake mushrooms to give it that earthy, meaty flavor. I also used a food processors to cut up half of the lobster that keeps it from becoming baby food from the blender. As for the thickness you could make a roux to thicken it. Just make sure to cook it a bit before adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nadiajc
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made it with the recommended changes: tomato paste, half wine/ half sherry, subbed whipping cream and added a little corn starch. I also did not use chicken stock since I had made a lobster stock with the shells. It was excellent with the changes, I think it would have been too watery and bland otherwise but good base recipe. Super easy. Also, I use Pinot Grigio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I added asparagus and swapped the white wine for sherry. I topped each bowl with an extra sprinkle of cayenne. This soup was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Disappointed. Made exactly as stated, but used crab instead of lobster because that is what was available fresh. I was really hopeful with this since it sounded easy & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Excellent w some minor changes. I used the meat from 8 frozen lobster claws. I simmered the shells in the chicken broth for about 30 min. to flavor the broth. Otherwise followed the recipe with two minor exceptions ... I added about 1 table spoon of all purpose flour in the final preparation for thickening and a dash of cognac.Sinally finished it off with a pinch of paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
ehhh.... I followed this recipe exact and ended up having to doctor it up some... Not too much flavoring and way too thin. Not sure if I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I've been wanting to make lobster bisque for years. It's one of our favorites things to eat at home in St. Martin's finer restaurants. This was wonderful!! I can't wait until my Fiance goes lobster diving again so I can make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My husband made this, including modifications but wanted to share. He left out the carrots and mushrooms and used canned crab instead of lobster and it turned out FABULOUS! The only reason I'm including our modifications (and believe me when I read them it drives me crazy) I just wanted to say that the core of this recipe is fantastic and can handle any minor changes that may be needed. Loved it and will definitely use it again, with everything next time, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I added a tin of tomato paste to the blender as was suggested in many other posts, it turned out perfectly! The thickness was just right, i followed the recipe to a T, no need for extra thickening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Not bad. I was trying to recreate a crab bisque I had on vacation even though this called for lobster the rest of the flavors looked the most promising so I gave it a whirl. And while this was close in flavor it was not in texture. Even though the process would not be easy to do I think straining the pureed mixture would really help. I will make it again, but next time try to strain it to get an even smoother texture because texture can make or break a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States