Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was my first time making curd. WOW! I love this stuff! I had no issues with the eggs as some other reviewers did. Once I squeezed the lemons I strained the juices through some cheesecloth. I skipped the zest completely because I don't care for the bitterness it can add. I did not miss it and felt the recipe was perfect without it. I melted the butter in my pan first, then added the sugar and cooked until absorbed and no longer grainy. Then I added the lemon juice and let cool down. Once cooled I added my eggs that I had beaten first and returned to the stove to finish cooking. I wanted something a little sturdier so I used 1/2 a Knox gelatin packet and it worked perfectly. I used the filling to make my Fruity Cream Cheese Danish in my recipe box. I really enjoyed this curd and look forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Sooooooo yummy and easy to do....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Turned out perfectly! I like that this recipe uses whole eggs instead of yolk so it is less messy to make. I use liquid eggs, so it makes it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and tempered the eggs. I also used a double boiler (pyrex, not metal). A beautiful smooth tangy lemony curd was the gratifying result. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
delicious! i cooked it very slowly and it took a long time but the final product was exquisite and very lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Flavor ok, but greasy. When I tried to cut the butter in half it was better, but wouldn't set up thick enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This tastes awesome! I didn't read all the reviews before I started or else I would have cooked it on a lower heat. The recipe calls for 6 minutes. I cooked it at least 10, it started to thicken but I don't think it's enough. I will definitely make this again but cut the butter in half for less fat, and the sugar down to 1/2 c instead of 3/4 c. It tastes really sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I wanted Orange curd but I can't buy any decent lemon curd in South Africa and nobody has heard of orange curd but I wanted this for a fantastic chocolate orange tart. I just changed the lemons for oranges; absolutely fantastic. I didn't bother to try the other recipes I found on the net. About eggs curdling, I use a stoneware pot that I cook everything with eggs in, sauces, etc which I put in the pan with boiling water. The water boils but the eggs don't curdle. It's a slow method but worth every minute as there's no fear of any burning either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I did find however I needed to wisk it in a double boiler, I simply place a bowl over simmering water. This removes the danger of scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a good base recipe. In the end, I added the juice of an extra lemon since the curd had more of a butter taste than lemon. It was still good, but not as lemony as one would expect and hope. A couple of changes I will make next time: 1- use egg yolks (no whites). Although I combined all ingredients before even turning on the heat, I still had bits of cooked egg whites that I had to strain; 2 - use 5 or 6 tablespoons of butter instead of an entire stick. Also, it took my mixture nearly 15 minutes to begin bubbling. Still, this recipe is a great jumping off point for those of us who had never attempted to make lemon curd before. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States