Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was my first time making curd. WOW! I love this stuff! I had no issues with the eggs as some other reviewers did. Once I squeezed the lemons I strained the juices through some cheesecloth. I skipped the zest completely because I don't care for the bitterness it can add. I did not miss it and felt the recipe was perfect without it. I melted the butter in my pan first, then added the sugar and cooked until absorbed and no longer grainy. Then I added the lemon juice and let cool down. Once cooled I added my eggs that I had beaten first and returned to the stove to finish cooking. I wanted something a little sturdier so I used 1/2 a Knox gelatin packet and it worked perfectly. I used the filling to make my Fruity Cream Cheese Danish in my recipe box. I really enjoyed this curd and look forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Sooooooo yummy and easy to do....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Turned out perfectly! I like that this recipe uses whole eggs instead of yolk so it is less messy to make. I use liquid eggs, so it makes it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and tempered the eggs. I also used a double boiler (pyrex, not metal). A beautiful smooth tangy lemony curd was the gratifying result. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
delicious! i cooked it very slowly and it took a long time but the final product was exquisite and very lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Flavor ok, but greasy. When I tried to cut the butter in half it was better, but wouldn't set up thick enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This tastes awesome! I didn't read all the reviews before I started or else I would have cooked it on a lower heat. The recipe calls for 6 minutes. I cooked it at least 10, it started to thicken but I don't think it's enough. I will definitely make this again but cut the butter in half for less fat, and the sugar down to 1/2 c instead of 3/4 c. It tastes really sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I wanted Orange curd but I can't buy any decent lemon curd in South Africa and nobody has heard of orange curd but I wanted this for a fantastic chocolate orange tart. I just changed the lemons for oranges; absolutely fantastic. I didn't bother to try the other recipes I found on the net. About eggs curdling, I use a stoneware pot that I cook everything with eggs in, sauces, etc which I put in the pan with boiling water. The water boils but the eggs don't curdle. It's a slow method but worth every minute as there's no fear of any burning either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I did find however I needed to wisk it in a double boiler, I simply place a bowl over simmering water. This removes the danger of scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is a good base recipe. In the end, I added the juice of an extra lemon since the curd had more of a butter taste than lemon. It was still good, but not as lemony as one would expect and hope. A couple of changes I will make next time: 1- use egg yolks (no whites). Although I combined all ingredients before even turning on the heat, I still had bits of cooked egg whites that I had to strain; 2 - use 5 or 6 tablespoons of butter instead of an entire stick. Also, it took my mixture nearly 15 minutes to begin bubbling. Still, this recipe is a great jumping off point for those of us who had never attempted to make lemon curd before. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States