Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Decided to double the recipe and used Pyrex bowl in rice cooker to soften butter and cook the lemon curd. One reviewer said to "temper" sugar, eggs & butter. Not being sure what that was, I blended the mixture on the "Stir" selection of a Kitchenaid blender. I tasted the result and chose to add all the zest from all 12 lemons. Then I slowly cooked in the Pyrex bowl over rice cooker. No problems with eggs separating and the instructions worked flawlessly. Pie shells were used to prep for a dessert. One pie mysteriously disappeared before it was completed. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
When making lemon curd OR custards - simply mix the egg yolks with the other ingredients - then proceed cooking - yes - stirring constantly is important. This never fails when I make curd or custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe for lemon curd. This is not all that well known here but so great on scones and as a filling for cakes. Also makes lovely tarts with a dollop of whipping cream on top. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I just made this and it came out perfect! I made lemon tarts and next will be Lemon Meringue pie. I strongly suggest that you mix the sugar, eggs and butter very well with a mixer until smooth and fluffy then cook all of the ingredients over very low heat (it will look curdled but keep it on low heat until the curdle is smooth, this is the butter melting into liquid) then cook on Medium stirring constantly until thick or you can swipe the back of the spoon with your finger and a clean trail is left. It's the best I've had besides my Grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Super easy, super good. Made this yesterday and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is the best recipe for lemon curd I've used. My neighbors give me lemons from their daughter's trees in Arizona and it never fails; the tartness and creaminess is superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very yummy and easy - I used the microwave. I also cut the butter to 1/8 cup from 1/2 cup - to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Look at notes before doing again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Krembs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Good flavour, but I was hoping for a thicker consistency. I'll have to play around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My mother in law taught me how to make this when I first married but we called it Lemon Butter. Delicious on toast, bagels or in little tart shells. This is a treat so I only make at holiday time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States