Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used the custard method and this came out great. It's the most tangy lemon curd I've ever had. So much better than store bought. Not too sweet and very lemony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Easy to make and a good use for a glut of lemons in the garden. Will make this again for sure, nice gift to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Super yummy and easy... We used it for tarts and in place of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
A little on the "too buttery" side for me. The bigger issue, however, is just as others have noted, the instructions do not reflect standard and classic technique - the inexperienced cook may not recognize this and might risk cooking the eggs rather than the custard if not careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
ive made lemon curd every spring for the last 3 years for a sugar cookie filling my family looks forward to it every year, and this recipe has helped me make a perfect curd every time one tip I can give people is keep the temp on the stove LOW ! and slowly work it up very slow otherwise this can curdle the milk very very quickly but this recipe works amazing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Decided to double the recipe and used Pyrex bowl in rice cooker to soften butter and cook the lemon curd. One reviewer said to "temper" sugar, eggs & butter. Not being sure what that was, I blended the mixture on the "Stir" selection of a Kitchenaid blender. I tasted the result and chose to add all the zest from all 12 lemons. Then I slowly cooked in the Pyrex bowl over rice cooker. No problems with eggs separating and the instructions worked flawlessly. Pie shells were used to prep for a dessert. One pie mysteriously disappeared before it was completed. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
When making lemon curd OR custards - simply mix the egg yolks with the other ingredients - then proceed cooking - yes - stirring constantly is important. This never fails when I make curd or custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Wonderful recipe for lemon curd. This is not all that well known here but so great on scones and as a filling for cakes. Also makes lovely tarts with a dollop of whipping cream on top. The possibilities are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I just made this and it came out perfect! I made lemon tarts and next will be Lemon Meringue pie. I strongly suggest that you mix the sugar, eggs and butter very well with a mixer until smooth and fluffy then cook all of the ingredients over very low heat (it will look curdled but keep it on low heat until the curdle is smooth, this is the butter melting into liquid) then cook on Medium stirring constantly until thick or you can swipe the back of the spoon with your finger and a clean trail is left. It's the best I've had besides my Grandmothers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Super easy, super good. Made this yesterday and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States