Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Makes a good, easy lemon curd. Nice balance of tart/sweet. I had to cook mine for way longer than 6 minutes to get it to thicken. Maybe next time I will use the same recipe but use Meyer lemons. I did not temper the eggs and it was just fine. Just heat it slowly. Great topping for ice cream, angel food cake, cheesecake....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Yum! I love this lemon curd! I have never purchased it or made it, but I love lemon, so I thought this would be good, and it is! I don't use butter (I'm lactose intolerant and butter kills me), so I think it cooked slightly different for me with margarine, but it still worked. I couldn't get the lemon curd to hold marks from the whisk, but it was coating the whisk and the pan, so I knew it was done, and it was. It thickened up in the fridge and was full of divine lemony-ness. I read through the reviews and ended up deciding to temper the eggs, which always works well for me. I read some of the advice about tempering--it's not that complicated. Just whisk the hot mixture into the eggs, constantly whisking, until the eggs are warm, then slowly whisk the egg mixture into the hot mixture on the stove. My eggs have never curdled, and I've never had to strain them, nor have I ever needed to use a double boiler. It takes just a few minutes, a little patience, and constant stirring. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This MAY just be the best lemon curd I've ever made. Awesome. Just a taste is so wonderful. Keeps in the fridge in a jar for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The lemon curd made from this recipe is *great*, but the directions are utter for people who have no experience making colloids like curd or hollandaise sauce (hence my 4-star rating). They do basically encompass what needs doing, but warnings should be added so that inexperienced cooks understand how gently the mix needs to be heated, and how constantly one needs to stir. My recommendations for those of you who haven't had much practice with this kind of sauce: get all the ingredients but the butter whisked thoroughly together, and begin heating them gently (start at low, and gradually turn up to medium-low or *maybe* even medium) in a heavy pan with just one tablespoon of butter in the mix. When that melts, start adding the rest of the butter about a tablespoon at a time, letting each piece incorporate before adding the next. Once it's all in, just keep stirring, don't let the heat get above medium, and be patient while it thickens. It takes a while, so make sure you've got at least 20-30 minutes free to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMHeckel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Yummers ! This is a great recipe and very easy. I know it says 6 minutes but it took me about an hour of gentle stirring over moderate heat to get the texture fairly thick. It's not firm but it will go well in a recipe or over ice cream. I suppose it would get stiffer if I would go longer and maybe I will try it next time. Got some rare egg flakes but not worried, hardly noticeable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very easy recipe! I did have to add additional zest for more flavor because the butter attempted a take over, but it was a wonderful filling for my petite fours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This recipe made a really lovely lemon curd, much better than the shop bought lemon curd. I was pretty nervous about making it so I put it over a double boiler to cook, which took me about half an hour but I knew it would, I'd never made lemon curd before. I didn't change the recipe except for adding a little more lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
It came ot very good. I did cream the butter and sugar and than added the lemon juice when it started to get warm. I used a glass pot and it came out perfect. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Totally easy. My first time making lemon curd. I had no problems with the eggs curdling. Perfect balance between tart and sweet. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This stuff is tart and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States