Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2015
Yum, perfect as is. Recipe description says "perfect with scones and tea", I say just give me a spoon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treasure Cooper

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
Just a tip, cook the curd in a double boiler like a custard, that's a pot with simmering water in it, and a metal bowl on top (quick easy double broiler) make sure the flames arent licking up the side of the pot and you will have minimal scorching/curdling. In Addition, for a more set but still oozey curd (for pies, tartes, ect.) add 1/2 cup of Agar Agar molecular stabilizer for a great turnout! Experience: Pastry Chef for 4 years, Executive Chef for 3 at a 4.5 star resort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Nye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Excellent and set up just as the recipe says! Easiest curd I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée-Hugh Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Read the 1-stars and decided to give it a go anyway. I DID add 1/4 cup of sugar bringing the sugar up to a full cup. I whisked my eggs BEFORE I put them into the pan with the lemon juice, sugar and butter. It did take a little longer than 6 minutes to get to the thick consistency you would expect, but other than that it tastes GREAT and I would say the recipe is pretty fool-proof. I'm going to make egg in a cloud meringues and put this in in place of the egg yolk and we'll see what happens with THAT. As for the basic recipe, this one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I've made this twice now. 1st in double boiler concerned about the curdling and 2nd in pan on low heat. I'm guessing the "curdling" people have had trouble with was actually the butter. Until it slowly gets warm enough to melt it looks like the curdling of scrambled eggs. Low and slow is key. Have patience and that "curdle" will melt into a nice smooth consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fry Gramentz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I followed this recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfectly. Even the 6 min cooking time. I would suggest that you make sure all your ingredients are the same temperature before turning on the heat and whisk continuously. Loved it. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I can eat this stuff strait
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this recipe, and had excellent results--no problem with the eggs not blending into the curd. I imagine anyone with that issue is overheating and not stirring enough. Made it to top my Christmas gingerbread, split and filled with Créme Anglaise. Rather nice concoction for a special dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edy Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe. Add a little corn starch with the sugar if you need it to set up more firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've never made lemon curd before, so I looked for the simplest recipe I could find. I also have no patience for double boilers; I was shocked at the bits of egg white left behind - almost 2 Tablespoons! So glad I strained it! I stirred the butter and zest in with a whisk until the butter was melted and the curd was smooth. It was like silk! The flavor was nice and tangy - almost too tangy, but I plan to serve it with gingerbread, so it should balance off nicely. It made just under 2 cups. I have to admit I changed the amounts a little bit: 3 eggs + 2 yolks, 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup lemon juice, 5 TB butter, 1 TB lemon zest, packed. I will definitely bookmark this one to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States