Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've never made lemon curd before, so I looked for the simplest recipe I could find. I also have no patience for double boilers! I began by whisking the eggs, juice and sugar in a saucepan, and stirred constantly with the whisk for the first 5 minutes, over Medium Hi heat. After 5 min, I lowered the heat to Med Low and switched to stirring with a silicone spatula. It thickened within 10 minutes, and looked smooth, but I strained it anyway. I was shocked at the bits of egg white left behind - almost 2 Tablespoons! So glad I strained it! I stirred the butter and zest in with a whisk until the butter was melted and the curd was smooth. It was like silk! The flavor was nice and tangy - almost too tangy, but I plan to serve it with gingerbread, so it should balance off nicely. It made just under 2 cups. I have to admit I changed the amounts a little bit: 3 eggs + 2 yolks, 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup lemon juice, 5 TB butter, 1 TB lemon zest, packed. I will definitely bookmark this one to use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Makes a great lemon curd with a tart kick to it but not enough to make you pucker:) It is a little on the loose side for a cake filling which is what I use it for but easy to make. Just be prepared to stand at the stove stirring for a long time. I have made twice and both times it takes me 20 mins of constant stirring to avoid the scrambled eggs effect. I cook mine on a 3.5 on my stove, 5 being medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Never having searched for a recipe for it, making lemon curd seemed intimidating. I located this recipe and made it for a bridal shower. It was simple enough to make, and it was a hit! I'll never buy it again. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is amazing! And not hard at all. It did take about 15 min to get to the thickness on low but I just kept whisking and it came out perfect! The best lemon curd I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I really liked it. I combined 2 recipes including this one to make a lemon custard pie. It turned out great!! It was even good for having it in the fridge. Was a huge hit my little brother loved it! Just make sure you whisk the eggs before hand and don't use to much lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is on the sweet side, but I used it in another recipe so it worked fine. There is another recipe on AR that is more tart that if you want a more tart curd, other than that it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
It works great. Mix all ingredients creamed together and cook about ten minutes. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyla Jo Nye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have dreamed of making lemon curd since I heard of it in a tea-time recipe book when I was seven. However, the recipe was so complicated, and my greatest fear when baking is that I'll make a flop! When I found this recipe, it looked so simple and really was! As other cooks suggested, I heated up the lemon juice, add the sugar and eggs (I used 6 yolks instead), all beaten up, and whisked constantly on med-low until thick- ten minutes. Then I added 1/4 c butter. The next time I want to make lemon curd, I'll know exactly where to go!!! YUM!!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Just like the name of it, it's PERFECT! I've made other recipes I found online & this is by far the best. Definitely dissolve everything but the eggs first. Gradually add already scrambled eggs after taking the mixture off the burner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This is a great curd. Holds up well, doesn't sweat, and is very tangy, which I love. I made it 2 days before and refrigerated to use in mini pies. Note, to avoid the egg issue do the following: melt the butter (in the microwave) and then put all ingredients but the eggs in a sauce pan. Use an immersion blend (or whisk) to blend everything and then add one egg at a time blending thoroughly. After everything is blended, then bring it to a boil. By incorporating the eggs first, you will avoid the boiled egg issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States