Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made this lemon curd for a cake filling and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Excellent recipe and super simple. I was very surprised at how quickly it set as well- less than the given time at medium heat on my electric range.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
It took all that was in me to stop myself from taking a spoon to this and going to town. It's that good. I thought it had the perfect amount of lemon flavor and a great consistancy. I creamed the butter and sugar together before adding the eggs and lemon, stirred and then added to the saucepan and had no issues whatsoever with my eggs cooking or it taking a year and a half to thicken. If I was standing at the stove for more than 10 minutes with this one, I'd be shocked. You can bet on the fact that this will be used again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
excellent recipe, but it is very few portion, so the second time i`ve done double, besides i put it in 1 tbspoon of corn starch...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puebla, Puebla, Mexico
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Too much butter and it takes much longer than it says. I added a teaspoon of lemon extract too for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I decided to try this recipe since my other one takes a little longer to make. I just finnished making this and it did not thicken up as much as I had originally thought. I did temper my eggs but after returning the mixture to the heat it was taking a long time to thicken. So in fear of curdling my eggs I took it off the stove. Even though it was still a little runny I whisked in some gelatin while it was still hot to try and thicken it and it did help some. Then I added my butter after it cooled some and it did set up a little nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Amazing and very simple lemon curd. If you are getting cooked egg white pieces in your curd you are not whisking enough and probably have your heat to high. I made a lower calorie lemon cake (mixing cake mix and 1 can diet cherry 7up) baked the cake in two 8 inch cake pans. When I layered the cake I covered each layer in the lemon curd (kind of undid the whole lower calorie thing but oh well) anyway this lemon curd made my cake amazing!!!! I finished the cake off with some low fat cool whip. It was a big hit at our Easter lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Absolutely delicious enough to eat alone. I would add additional thickening if I wanted to use as a pie filling, though. I strained the end product to remove the rind any egg that might have curdled, and because I didn't want to watch for seeds when juicing lemons :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Excellent Lemon curd! I did end up with a couple little pieces of egg, but no one else would have ever noticed. My advice is to keep the heat as low as you can and never stop mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This was exactly what I was looking for - like lemonade but goopy, haha! I might have been a *little* generous about the sugar, I didn't want to risk puckering. Very good directions in the comments to help the process go easier, I had never had to deal with tempering eggs before, and this turned out perfectly the first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States