Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
To remove the curdling potential, I used pasteurized eggs -- a common ingredient in our commercial kitchen. I just dumped everything in a saucepan, heated to boil, then let it bubble until I liked the thickness. I did reduce the butter to 1/3 cup after reading reviews about the curd being too buttery. I'm using it in Easter Lemon Cheese Pies, so I want it plenty tart to stand up against creamy ingredients. Ab fab! Thanks to everyone who reviewed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was my first time making curd. WOW! I love this stuff! I had no issues with the eggs as some other reviewers did. Once I squeezed the lemons I strained the juices through some cheesecloth. I skipped the zest completely because I don't care for the bitterness it can add. I did not miss it and felt the recipe was perfect without it. I melted the butter in my pan first, then added the sugar and cooked until absorbed and no longer grainy. Then I added the lemon juice and let cool down. Once cooled I added my eggs that I had beaten first and returned to the stove to finish cooking. I wanted something a little sturdier so I used 1/2 a Knox gelatin packet and it worked perfectly. I used the filling to make my Fruity Cream Cheese Danish in my recipe box. I really enjoyed this curd and look forward to making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Sooooooo yummy and easy to do....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Turned out perfectly! I like that this recipe uses whole eggs instead of yolk so it is less messy to make. I use liquid eggs, so it makes it even easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and tempered the eggs. I also used a double boiler (pyrex, not metal). A beautiful smooth tangy lemony curd was the gratifying result. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
delicious! i cooked it very slowly and it took a long time but the final product was exquisite and very lemony
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Flavor ok, but greasy. When I tried to cut the butter in half it was better, but wouldn't set up thick enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This tastes awesome! I didn't read all the reviews before I started or else I would have cooked it on a lower heat. The recipe calls for 6 minutes. I cooked it at least 10, it started to thicken but I don't think it's enough. I will definitely make this again but cut the butter in half for less fat, and the sugar down to 1/2 c instead of 3/4 c. It tastes really sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I wanted Orange curd but I can't buy any decent lemon curd in South Africa and nobody has heard of orange curd but I wanted this for a fantastic chocolate orange tart. I just changed the lemons for oranges; absolutely fantastic. I didn't bother to try the other recipes I found on the net. About eggs curdling, I use a stoneware pot that I cook everything with eggs in, sauces, etc which I put in the pan with boiling water. The water boils but the eggs don't curdle. It's a slow method but worth every minute as there's no fear of any burning either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieBlue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. I did find however I needed to wisk it in a double boiler, I simply place a bowl over simmering water. This removes the danger of scrambled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States