Perfect Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Prepared this exactly as directed. It was super simple and the flavor was good, but I didn't like the texture with the zest in the curd. Next time, I will leave the butter out until after I can make tracks in the curd with the whisk. Then, I'll strain it, add the butter, and throw it into the blender or food processor. I've made curds before using this technique and have liked the texture much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made my curd using the exact ingredients of this recipe, but I changed the way I put them together based on recommendations I received from someone on the Buzz. And it worked PERFECTLY! I creamed the butter and sugar just like I was going to make cookies or cake. Then I added the eggs one at a time, beating until very fluffy each time. Then I added the lemon juice and zest. When it was fully mixed, I poured it into a pan and heated it on stovetop, stirring constantly. It gave me perfect curd with no egg curdles! Like magic! Oh, yum! Now it's used as a filling in a birthday cake with some leftovers for my toast! Yummy! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Better than my English mum used to make! I doubled the recipe - except the butter (left it at 1/2 cup) and sugar (used 1 1/4 cups). I mixed juice, eggs & sugar and cooked on low but it took about 20 minutes. I added the butter and zest when it was done and off the heat. My children loved it and my 12 year old daughter said it was better than chocolate! I used it for an anniversary cake filling and it was a HUGE hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and received many compliments. I frequently make adjustments to recipes but this one is just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I bake quite a bit, and this was a first try success. I had leftover egg yolk from a cake, so I used 4 egg yolks + 1 whole egg. It turned out perfectly. I didn't have any trouble with the egg cooking too fast as several reviewers mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Just made this recipe and OMG, it is so GOOD. Easy to make and doesn't take a whole lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Excellent and super easy. It really does require constant stirring to make it set right without lumps. The taste was delicious and perfect with scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Follow the suggestions by SIDCAES and this recipe works beautifully. This was my first attempt at making curd and it was very easy. Tempering the eggs is key. I also followed the suggestion and reduced butter to 1/4 cup. Thank you for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I was trying to conserve on the amount of eggs I was using, so I tried this recipe. I had the pot on super low, but I still got 3 spots of scrambled egg whites, so strain it. I'm a pretty good chef, so I think the scrambling has to do with the temp control for beginners, but also with how many egg yolks vs egg whites the recipe uses. I used another recipe before and didnt have any scrambled. I like my lemon curd tart, so I added more lemon juice and a 1/4 cup of lemon zest. Kept the sugar the same. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
this is a very good, simple recipe. It's i tiny bit lacking in flavor so suggest adding about 1/4 teaspoon lemon extract. It make ALL the difference...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Perfect Breakfast

Eggs, avocado, and cheese make a deliciously simple toasted breakfast sandwich.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States