Perfect Flourless Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was so good. I was nervous because of some of the reviews, but I took time to scoop out a lot of the pith, leaving the peel and the orange fruit of course. I don't think it was too hard to do, maybe a little messy but just do it over the sink. Boiling the orange made the house smell great! The second time around I added cloves to the boiling to impart a little extra flavor. P.S. note that you need to beat the eggs for 10 minutes! That's an easy thing to miss and why some might not have gotten a great (non-cakey) texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Amazing cake! I topped mine with a semi-sweet chocolate glaze. My two favorite things orange and chocolate. Finding a moist tasty flourless cake is hard but this is one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I'm not sure what I could have done wrong but the texture sure wasn't like the photo. It was not dense at all, in fact, it was quite airy. Maybe I beat the egg and sugar too long. I had to look up other recipes to figure out of the peel went in the processor as well. I would have liked to see that little tidbit in the recipe. The cake stuck to everything regardless of the parchment and the nonstick spray. I used naval oranges and I think the flavor is good. Another plus of the naval orange is there were no seeds. If you can afford the saffron, it's really great spice. If I try this recipe again, I think I will look for different one, not a fan of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Did not care for the texture. I've made flourless cakes before and the texture has always been different but good. Taste was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
too sweet but ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made for my daughters and their friends (age 9-13) and they all loved it (some had 3 pieces). I subbed half the sugar for splenda, skipped the saffron and used crystallized ginger instead of candied orange peel. I topped with a hibiscus cream cheese icing (1/2 block of low fat cream cheese, 2 TBS blue agave syrup, 3 TBS orange marmalade, 1/4 c. wild hibiscus syrup). The icing came out a pretty shade of lavender. I decorated with wild yellow flowers from the garden. BIG SUCCESS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I just tried this yesterday and it was so moist as it melts in your mouth... we all simply loved it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Made a hit even with the non-gluten free family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I didn't care for the texture and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious! If concerned of bitternes, prefer thin peel oranges and always carefully discard all white and seeds. I use 1 cup Xylitol to make a diabetic SouthBeach version and worked perfectly. Definitively not for use with elaborate bun pan, well greased plain round pan delivers the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States