Perfect Flourless Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Made a hit even with the non-gluten free family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Florissant, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I didn't care for the texture and taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Delicious! If concerned of bitternes, prefer thin peel oranges and always carefully discard all white and seeds. I use 1 cup Xylitol to make a diabetic SouthBeach version and worked perfectly. Definitively not for use with elaborate bun pan, well greased plain round pan delivers the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Cake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I use a springform pan, and treat this a little more like a cheesecake by baking it in a 1" water bath. Also, after the oranges are cool enough to handle, I dissect them and remove as much of the seeds, strings and white pith that I can. That helps alleviate some of the bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This turns out somewhat dense like a coffee cake, but is really delicious. If you're trying to make this completely gluten free, you should NOT flour the cake pan if you are using white or wheat flour. Instead I used powdered sugar & it worked alright. May use rice flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Awesome !!! The difficult part for this recipes is S&D mission !! (search and destroy orange's seeds) If you did not remove it completely .. your cake will a bit bitter If you did not use stove top method , you can use microwave !!! just put oranges in microwave safe bowl - cover it, and set high for 30min (time might be 30-45min depend on size of orange and W. of microwave)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was a first flourless cake for me and for a dinner party. To eliminate any bitterness I used thin skinned oranges and after cooking, topped and tailed them to remove the thicker parts of the skin. Also I measured 1 1/4cups of the pulp as there was too much and would have been bitter. It browned up in minutes so I quickly popped on some foil but didn't think to spray the foil with cooking oil so it stuck and tore the top off a perfectly cooked cake, DUH!!! The cake was as good as promised and our guests loved it, my girls, 14 and 11 thought it was "disgusting" as the texture if you're not used to it is wet and very different to flour based cakes. I won't make it again but if you like flourless, this would be a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This is one of the great cakes,it is delicious, warm with fresh cream, & cold, cut into wedges, keeps well in the 'fridge too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I also wondered if maybe there was an ingredient missing. And because you use the entire orange, the cake tasted a bit orange peelish/bitter. Very moist....good with whipped cream....but something not quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMMERSANN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
I'm not sure what I did wrong--after only 30 minutes, I checked on the cake and discovered that it had already burned on the top and bottom. Unfortunately, it was all I had to serve to my guests, but they seemed to like it anyway. After you scraped off the burned parts, the cake in the middle was actually very good. I'm allergic to wheat, so for me, this recipe is worth making again. However, until I figure out how to get it to look nice, I will only be making this for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States