Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made this last night just as directed, except had to sub prepared brown mustard, and it does make a very tasty steak. I used 1" thick filets, med-rare, cooked 3 mins each side. Very pretty sliced on the platter too. Might try topping with some sauted mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
It may be that I simply do not like Flat Iron steaks. I have cooked them several times and not liking them exactly, I tried this recipe. While I WILL SAY the meat was very tender, I did not like the taste. I doubt I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
1/4 C of mustard was way too much. I had to wash the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Conley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing I changed was I used 2 tsp and not 1/4c of dry mustard powder as I only had 2 tsp left in the bottle on hand. But, even if I had more....I would be afraid to use 1/4 of mustard powder in a small batch of marinade. It sounds like an awful lot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Lori Jay, Flat iron steak is the shoulder top blade cut. Found this online: The Flat Iron is very similar to any of the Flat Steaks so anything calling for Skirt or Flank Steak will benefit from a Flat Iron Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
i am in CANADA and have never heard of flat iron steak - could you please advise what other cut (name) it could be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I am head over heals in love with this recipe. GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Not so good. It was very tender, but it tasted like liver. Ick. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I'm not quite at the "PERFECT" level on this recipe but it was good. I have other Flat Iron recipes I prefer but it was worth a try. I followed this recipe as written. The amount of Mustard Powder seemed a tad high. I still enjoy the reviews that bear little resemblance to the recipe their rating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I couldn't find any "flat iron" cuts of steak so I purchased tender medallions (another shoulder cut). Other than that I didn't change a thing. The flavor of the marinade is amazing, even after just two hours, and the cooking instructions were right on target. We got a perfect medium rare. My boyfriend was very impressed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States