Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
1/4 C of mustard was way too much. I had to wash the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Conley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Very good. The only thing I changed was I used 2 tsp and not 1/4c of dry mustard powder as I only had 2 tsp left in the bottle on hand. But, even if I had more....I would be afraid to use 1/4 of mustard powder in a small batch of marinade. It sounds like an awful lot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Lori Jay, Flat iron steak is the shoulder top blade cut. Found this online: The Flat Iron is very similar to any of the Flat Steaks so anything calling for Skirt or Flank Steak will benefit from a Flat Iron Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
i am in CANADA and have never heard of flat iron steak - could you please advise what other cut (name) it could be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Waumsley-Sharpe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I am head over heals in love with this recipe. GREAT JOB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Not so good. It was very tender, but it tasted like liver. Ick. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I'm not quite at the "PERFECT" level on this recipe but it was good. I have other Flat Iron recipes I prefer but it was worth a try. I followed this recipe as written. The amount of Mustard Powder seemed a tad high. I still enjoy the reviews that bear little resemblance to the recipe their rating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I couldn't find any "flat iron" cuts of steak so I purchased tender medallions (another shoulder cut). Other than that I didn't change a thing. The flavor of the marinade is amazing, even after just two hours, and the cooking instructions were right on target. We got a perfect medium rare. My boyfriend was very impressed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
this was very good! I marinated for over 24 hours and it turned out very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICASRECIPES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have never cooked with this particular cut of meat and I was pleasantly surprised at how tender this turned out to be! I made this strictly to specifications and found that the wine flavor took center stage to others, so for those that do not like the strong 'wine flavor' I would strongly recommend cutting the amount that you use. My husband does not like bloody meat so I cooked it 8 minutes per side on an indoor grill and found it to be perfect, not overcooked at all. I will definitely make this again, but with less wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States