Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yes a good dish. It did not matter that ready made mustard was used instead and any sort of red wine. Strain the marinade and when you have cooked the steaks leave to settle and then boil the liquid rapidly to make a jus, add a splash of balsamic vinegar (fig if you have it) and away you go. Slice up the steak as you would a ducks breast. This could also be served with a little cranberry sauce and parsley sprinkled over the top. Your guests will think you have spend far more than the Flat Iron costs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This was excellent! i used dry herbs but fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ravens

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Delicious! Nice marinade. I didn't have the cabernet so just used some red wine I had and I also didn't have fresh rosemary so had to use dried. Then I was the opposite and didn't have dry mustard so squeezed in some regular old yellow mustard. I think I added a bit extra garlic and then stuck it in a bag and went to bed. We had it the next night for dinner Got my steak on clearance for 50% off to so it made it taste even better!! We like our meat still close to growling so it was rare-med/rare and so tender you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Seabeck, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I was curious about flat iron steak since I have been reading about it on the cooking websites so I purchased a decent looking cut and then happened upon this excellent recipe and the proponents and steak aficionados were quite right about the excellent nature of this relatively new steak! It came out very tender and was delicious! Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EZWriter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I don't know what I did here, but I couldn't taste the marinade and it didn't tenderize the steak very much. I even doubled the marinating time. One thing I did different was was use sliced flat iron steaks. Maybe, that was a problem. I did cook them in a hot pan versus grilling. Both, never seemed to be a problem before though. The steak was still descent, for not being a prime cut, just not sure entirely about what the marinate did for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was great! We cooked it in the oven at 500 degrees in a cast iron pan. 3 mins per side! Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is one of our favorite (non-BBQ) steak recipes. Exceptionally tender and flavorful. We've prepared it several times without the dry mustard (simply because we didn't have any) and loved it. I'm going to try the dry mustard today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darklordlarry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Your recipe is very aptly named. This was hands-down the most fantabulous steak I have ever eaten!! The marinade was delicious and the meat almost melted in my mouth, it was so tender. Good-bye Tenderloin, this is my new Fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo Crane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made this last night following the recipe and it was fantastic!!! Will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I really did not care for the marinade on this steak. I am a big fan of flat iron steaks and was hoping to find a recipe for pan frying them. Something about the cab wine and the mustard. Hubby said it was good but we both like the "Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Blue Cheese butter" much better. Though the marinades are quite similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maquoketa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States