Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I have never cooked with this particular cut of meat and I was pleasantly surprised at how tender this turned out to be! I made this strictly to specifications and found that the wine flavor took center stage to others, so for those that do not like the strong 'wine flavor' I would strongly recommend cutting the amount that you use. My husband does not like bloody meat so I cooked it 8 minutes per side on an indoor grill and found it to be perfect, not overcooked at all. I will definitely make this again, but with less wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I did not care for this at all. I don't even like the smell of it. Judging by the other reviews it was good so I am not sure if it is just because I am sensitive to the Cabernet or the mustard powder or what but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Im not sure what I did wrong, especially after reading the reviews again but it turned out horrible. Id really like to know what I did...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCatrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
My Very picky husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msyoung

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wheat Ridge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
this is far from perfect. it was still breathing after the suggested prepared time. not rare but BREATHING!!! it took another 15 minutes and then 5 to rest to get it to medium rare. and the steak was NEVER frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved it. My first try with the flat iron cut--it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I've always wanted to successfully pan fry a steak and flat iron is the cut to make that possible. This marinade is very good. I cooked it at least 6 - 8 minutes per side because it was totally raw in the middle after 4 minutes per side. I did not let it come to room temp before cooking which probably had a lot to do with length of cooking time. It came out juicy and pink in the center after 6 - 8 minutes. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I tried this recipe last night for my husband and I and we really enjoyed it a lot. This is a must. I used dried herbas as I did not have fresh herbs. The result was very yummy. However, I can't wait to try with fresh herbs. I will definately cook it again!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Very good. Never had flat iron steak before and we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
If I could give this 10 stars I would. This was my first taste of Flat Iron Steak. It won't be my last. It is more tender than sirloin. I followed the recipe exactly except for the dry mustard, I used 1 Tablespoon. Instead of pan frying, I put it on the grill. I was able to get a good price on a steak assortment,(Flat Iron, Sirloin, NY Strip) so I doubled the marinade recipe, placed each steak individually in a Ziploc freezer bag with several tablespoons of the marinade and put them in the freezer. They marinade as they thaw in the fridge. My guests never let me plan ahead, they usually just drop by to see "what's cooking" So I can pull out the amount and cut I need. Having these handy has made me a hero to steak lovers. Thanks for this flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. gayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States