Perfect Flat Iron Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Carabelli
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
You can't get proper browning on a steak in a nonstick skillet. In order to form that perfect crust, you have to use a cast iron (preferably) or a stainless steel skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Great recipe! I made it per instructions, except I used all dried spices and I marinaded the steak overnight. This is definitely the BEST version of Flat Iron Steak I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
It was delicious! I made it for our Christmas Eve dinner, as I wanted something that I would be able to throw together w/out a lot of preparation. My entire family, including the daughters who are not fans of beef, loved it. Don't know if the recipe changed, as some reviewers talked about 1/4 cup mustard--the recipe I followed only called for 1/4 tsp, which was the perfect amount. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Great marinade! The steaks come out very moist and juicy, which is rare in a flat iron steak! I have one of the vacuum sealers that allows me to make custom sized bags. I mix the marinade, and put it and the steaks in a vacuum-able bag. Then I vacuum and seal the bag. I do that with all meat marinades now, seems to really accelerate the marinating process. But that's the only addition I made to the recipe. Thanks for a really good one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I don't know, maybe I'm just not used to the flavor, but I thought the marinade just tasted weird for a steak. I think it might just be preference though because I chose this recipe for its high ratings. The majority seems to like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Easy & Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was absolutely a restaurant grade meal! For those that have asked, a flat iron steak is also called a "Top Blade Steak". In my supermarket, it's called a Flat Iron steak and comes prepackaged in a cryovac (sp?) package. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly. I think that you need to in order to give an accurate review...is not fair to give a bad or less than complimentary review if you did not use the same ingredients, left one or more out, or substituted. (You can decide after trying if you want to tweak it to your tastes.) Is not necessary to use an expensive wine...I used a $2.97 bottle of Oak Leaf that I got at Walmart. I also used the fresh herbs and I think I marinaded this for about 6 hours. This was just for my husband and I, so the steak I bought was just a little over 1 pound. I still used the same measurements for the marinade and it was perfect. I cut the meat in half because I knew my husband would want his more done....I am a medium rare girl...he doesn't like to see a lot of red. And that brings me to some complaints I saw of this recipe regarding the cooking time. It's difficult to judge that because of the thickness of the steak you buy and the heat you use. I started the burner at medium high about 3 minutes before I added the meat (gas burner). I would say that for my steak, it took about 7-8 minutes per side for medium-rare. I left my husband's in the pan for an additional 3 min. per side and it was perfect for him. Excellent meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is really close to a marinade I've been looking for from a steak house from 40 years ago. Of course it was done on a flank steak then. You just made a wish come true! Big thanks Cocina JNOTS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
perfect I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosella

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Made this last night just as directed, except had to sub prepared brown mustard, and it does make a very tasty steak. I used 1" thick filets, med-rare, cooked 3 mins each side. Very pretty sliced on the platter too. Might try topping with some sauted mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkcooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mean Mr. Mustard Steak

Grainy mustard and steak seasoning add tangy goodness to seared steaks.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States