Perfect Crab Cakes With Green Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
These are the best crab cakes I have ever had! I also put them on a cookie sheet with a layer of Panko bread crumbs while they are refrigerating so that one side has that amazing crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Really good, best crab cakes I have ever made!! I used only 8oz of crab meat and it was plenty, I'm not sure how a full lb would of been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
First time I ever made crab cakes- these were EASY, very tasty and pretty to look at as well! Be sure to use good quality crab meat for best results! I've made them several more times now and love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Kuang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DeusaCozinheira
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is a great base recipe, but as other reviews mention, in needs more spice. Here's what I did differently, and they were to die for: I added a splash of Worcestershire sauce, 2 minced cloves of garlic, sprinkle of salt and pepper, an entire tsp. Old Bay seasoning, 1/2 tsp. hot sauce, and 1 tbs. dijon mustard to the egg mixture. To save a few bucks, I used two 4 oz. cans of lump crab and two 4 oz. cans regular white crab meat. I omitted the milk completely, and crushed up 10 town house crackers into the crab. I stored the caked on parchment paper on a baking sheet 4-5 hrs. before frying and dredged in panko crumbs right before they hit the skillet. I also used the red pepper sauce in another allrecipes.com crabcake recipe to serve. DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeusaCozinheira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The ingredients, and proportions of them, are spot on accurate for classic, traditional crab cakes...you want good quality crab meat and lots of it, and just enough egg, crumbs and mayo to bind it. The Old Bay too, is the typical seasoning. Use a light hand and mix gently--you want nice, big chunks of crab, not mush balls! I have made crab cakes often and coat them in Japanese Panko bread crumbs, and was curious to try these as they were not coated in anything before frying. After doing it this way, I have to say I much prefer them coated with either the panko bread crumbs or even just flour before frying. Refrigerating them for a good hour or so before frying really helps them to keep their shape while cooking. All and all, this is a good, basic recipe, but really much better lightly dredged in flour or panko crumbs. I accompanied these with lemon wedges and "Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
As noted by many others, this is a great starter recipe for truly excellent crab cakes. Changes that I made include: 1) 2:1 Dijon mustard:mayonase, with a slight increase in total quantity 2) Italian bread crumbs rather than crackers, a bit less than called for in the original recipe 3) Double or more) the Old Bay® or equivalent and use d'Jardins "Blazin' Saddles®" habanero sauce (about 1/2+ tsp) 4) 1-2 minced garlic cloves, first sauteed in butter (living well versus living long?) 5) Increase the amount of green onion by about 50% 6) Dredge in Panko before frying So far, rave reviews... Thank you Pam Anderson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
this was a wow! i used ritz crackers instead of reg. saltines and added a lot more old bay and hot sauce. i also took a reviewers advice and sprinkled a few bread crumbs on top right before i put them in the oil. it was soooo good. i will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Huge
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
We tweaked this a bit...but the ingredient lineup is solid. First of all, and most importantly, we used fresh crab we had caught off Anacortes in Puget Sound...admittedly a huge luxury. Secondly, we reduced the quantities of crackers and breadcrumbs, the idea being that they're not RitzCrackerCakes, they're Crab cakes...so the more crab the better...little tobasco, used fresh garlic instead of powder. The crackers we crushed about 10 and mixed them in there, then just dredged the cakes in bread crumbs so the outside was nice and crispy. This is a great, forgiving recipe...so go crazy- you can't go too far wrong, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
A really easy recipe. I made mine with tofu "crab" meat, skipped the milk, and used Ritz crackers b/c that's what I had on hand. A huge HUGE hit with the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This recipe came out perfect! I did make some substitutions to keep the Weight Watchers point value down. I used egg beaters for eggs, used 1 TBS Fat Free Mayo + 1 TBS dijon mustard for 2 TBS mayo, used 4 tsp Silk soy milk for 4 tsp milk, and used 10 onion flavored melba toast for 10 saltine crackers. I also doubled spices and green onions for extra flavor and used 1 tsp Old bay. I will definitely make this again. For those on Weight Watchers using Flex Points, the modified recipe came to 26 total points; with each crab cake (not serving) being 3.25 points each. It was a nice change from the usual chicken meals we eat. Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy
Home Town: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States