Perfect Crab Cakes With Green Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I normally use a adapted recipe from this site (My Crab Cakes by Rod Mowery), but we were at the beach this past week and needed a simpler recipe with fewer ingredients so we tried this one. The results were excellent - a tender meaty crab cake with a nice crispy crust. After reading the suggestions of others, I doubled the hot sauce and Old Bay seasoning in the recipe, chilled the crab cakes for several hours before cooking, and patted them with panko crumbs before frying. This was a great beach recipe (good flavor, simple prep, few ingredients) and one that I'll definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Wonderful. I used the panko bread crumbs on the cakes after I let them chill in the freezer. I also used two packages of Chicken of the Sea ready-to-serve crab which I had drained. Very tasty and made four cakes. My husband and I were glad that our kids weren't eating with us so we could enjoy double portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
we made them last night and they were fabulous! so crabby and held together perfectly. My husband wished they had a bit more hot sauce, but my kids said noooo dad..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Husband loved them, I thought they were an awful lot of work for very little flavor. I did use the suggestion for covering in panko bread crumbs and that really do a good job to boost the crunchy crust. Don't think I will be making these again although I will try crab cake recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenvalerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These were my first attempt at crab cakes, and I was pleased with the recipe. I did as several previous reviewers suggested and used Ritz crackers instead of saltines, and coated the cakes in panko bread crumbs before frying. The panko bread crumb coating really added crunch and flavor, I couldn't imagine these without it! Since we're on a budget, I used imitation crab (made out of fish) broken into lumps; I'm sure it's better with the real thing, but we wanted to try these without breaking the bank. I wasn't sure they would hold together at first and had to place them in the oil very gently, but they firmed up very well as they fried, and were easy to flip without breaking. I served them with the "Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans" from this site, as suggested and it complemented them perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mosheim, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
The recipe was awsome. I am a former flight attendant and have had a lot of crab cakes in my travels. This taste just like I was in Nantucket eating at one of those fancy resturants. Everyone loved it even my 2 year old. I didn't have old bay so just used seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
WOW! These crab cakes are perfect! This was my 1st time making these and boy was my man impressed!They were so easy to make! I, as others recommended used extra Old Bay seasoning, hot sauce & green onions. The best tip had to be adding panko bread crumbs. I made the crab cakes and put them in the fridge for a few hours then rolled them in the panko crumbs. Once they were done they were nice and crispy on the outside. They were just so good I’m making the again tonight! Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Good, but next time I'll add more Old Bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I make excellent crab cakes (she says humbly) but liked the look of these. They were sinfully easy compared to mine and were absolutely to die for. I didn't change a thing except I used canned white crab meat. I can't wait to try it with fresh crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I added a few seasonings that I like. I'm from Louisiana and we're not used to bland food here, and we do love our crabcakes! We go crabbing ourselves so we always have fresh (Yum!) crabmeat. Anyway, great recipe, just remember to fry on low heat so they don't burn :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States