Perfect Crab Cakes With Green Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I loved these--not too much filler, they held together well. The key is pressing them together to get rid of as much air as possible before frying them. I had no trouble at all keeping them together. They were crunchy, even without adding panko. Following the recipe and preheating the oil for 10 mins. made the difference! I served these with Mustard Cream Sauce also from this site, and they were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
These were a hit with my two kids and husband! They liked the concentrated crab flavor without tons of filler. I used Ritz crackers instead of saltines and coated them in panko crumbs before frying and they turned out golden brown and tasty! My mix was a little runny but I think it was because my crab wasn't drained quite enough. Next time, I will make sure the crab is thouroughly drained and it will be easier to cook. But overall, these crab cakes were better than most I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babycakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
OMG! Delicious!!!!! My husband and I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Excellent base recipe. I took several suggestions and added to them: I used day old sour dough french bread crumbs (No crusts just center, not prepackaged bread crumbs) (I had no crackers), increased Old Bay's x3, used a couple of good squirts of Sriracha (hot sauce) added 2 TBS chopped parsely for more color. Refrigerated 2 hrs. Then dredged well in Panko, the Japanese bread crumbs before frying. Had great reviews from all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Okay, I made "chicken" cakes instead of crab cakes using 1 can of tyson's chicken in place of the crab. I kept all other measurments the same. I omited the cayanne and the hot sauce as I made it for my toddlers. I would be enough for 2 adults for a light dinner. Recipe came out great. I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These are excellent. I followed the diretions exactly but I coated the cakes with some panko just before frying. Served with homemade tartar. Big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Excellent! I used Panko crumbs instead of saltines, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Very light and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Awesome! I used Ritz crackers instead of saltines... as good as any I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
OMG!!! These were so wonderful, my FI had never had crab cakes before, I trick him though, I also cooked salmon patties for him. I slipped in one of my crab cakes and he took a bite and said wow this is good, but what is it. I said "something you said you didn't like" :). He couldn't believe it and neither could I when I watched him eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States