Perfect Crab Cakes With Green Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
The BEST crab cakes! I rolled the crabcakes lightly in panko bread crumbs before frying which added a nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. I've used it at least a dozen times. I can never find the Old chesapeke seasonings, so I just use salt, pepper, dried mustard, red pepper, onion powder, and some parsley flakes. I also never buy real crab. I just use the imitation stuff and break it up in the food processor. I also use townhouse crackers instead of saltines for a buttery taste. A good tip for parties is to make them really tiny and serve them with tartar sauce. Bite sized and crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The ingredients, and proportions of them, are spot on accurate for classic, traditional crab cakes...you want good quality crab meat and lots of it, and just enough egg, crumbs and mayo to bind it. The Old Bay too, is the typical seasoning. Use a light hand and mix gently--you want nice, big chunks of crab, not mush balls! I have made crab cakes often and coat them in Japanese Panko bread crumbs, and was curious to try these as they were not coated in anything before frying. After doing it this way, I have to say I much prefer them coated with either the panko bread crumbs or even just flour before frying. Refrigerating them for a good hour or so before frying really helps them to keep their shape while cooking. All and all, this is a good, basic recipe, but really much better lightly dredged in flour or panko crumbs. I accompanied these with lemon wedges and "Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This recipe is awesome! It is the first time I have had crabcakes and did not need any dipping sauce with it. I did make a couple of modifications: I used 12 ozs. of imitation crab instead of real crab, bread crumbs instead of cracker and I used 1 package of Old Bay Crab Cake seasoning mix. Even my 15 year old daughter loved them!! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I served this last night with a cilantro-lime sauce and everyone loved it! My husband mentioned that these were made just the way he liked them...pretty much all crab meat! Very easy to prepare and held their shape well even when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I've tried so many times to find a good crab cake recipe and I found it! These crb cakes melt in your mouth and don't fall apart as bad like other recipes I've tried. I added green peppers for more flavor. I used red onions instead of green. My husband couldn't stop talking about how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
These were easy as pie - and very tasty. Light, creamy and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
My rating did not match my husband and son at all. They loved. If it was up to me, I would not make again, but for them, I will. I added a little more Old Bay and kept everything else as written but I did not think there was a lot of flavor. My husband and son loved the fact that they had so much crab in them and not as much breading. Oh well....will make again for them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
These were pretty good, a little bland though. Next time I will try to tweak this recipe a bit, to give it a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I thought these were just ok. It's very possible that I just messed something up, but mine didn't hold together very well when I fried them. They were a little bland, but good with some sauce on them. My boyfriend liked them, but next time I'll try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States