Perfect Crab Cakes With Green Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
It's a very good recipe but not perfect. There was too much liquid and not enough spices. I added fresh parsley, crushed red peppper and a little garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This is a good starter recipe for adding other ingredients that suit your taste. I ended up using more mayo to hold everything together and more like 1 tsp. of Old Bay seasoning. I also added more green onions, and in the future I'll add more crunchy green veggies like chopped celery or green bell pepper. I used breadcrumbs instead of crushed saltines (panko would also be good), and I coated each crab cake in breadcrumbs before I fried it. With some homemade tartar sauce and lemon juice, these were excellent. Make sure not to break up all the lumps in the crabmeat, or the texture will be all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Excellent! I used leftover crab from last night's dinner, doubled the seasonings and green onion and used spicy cocktail sauce in place of the hot sauce. Coated with panko bread crumbs before frying and made an accompanying sweet sauce out of mayo, dijon mustard and a little peach preserves. OH was this ever yummy, thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I am not a huge crab cake fan but this recipe was simple enough to get me to try my luck. These came out great but as usual I had to give the formula a little twist - I used half mayo and half dejon mustard and added a small sazon (cilantro) seasoning packet to the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is our favorite crab cake recipe. It has more meat/less fillers. I do use more old bay seasoning and 2 whole green onions. I also 2 tsp of milk as 4 makes the crab cakes crumble easier. I also use veg oil instead as I don't care for the olive oil taste with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KO

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
Easy. pretty tasty. After reading other reviews, I thought I'd double the spices. It worked well (although we like spice, so when we do this again, we'll be adding even more).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These are the best crab cakes ever!! I love them so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I was nervous about making crab cakes because I'd heard it was difficult, but these were extremely easy! They stuck together well and looked authentic. I used canned lump crab meat and got great results. I also added a tiny bit of powdered "True Lemon" for a slight kick. On the side, for dipping, I offered both hot sauce and horseradish sauce. Both tasted great with the crabcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GA law dawg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Found this packed in w/ my Christmas decorations & remembered I made it last year...must have forgotten to review it in the hustle of the season. I do remember, however, that we were disappointed in the recipe...they were pretty blah. The "perfect" crab cake recipe still eludes me. *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States