Perfect Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe! My first time making coconut macaroons and these came out great. The few recipes I looked at before this one called for condensed milk or unbeaten egg whites which sounded unusual. So I tried my hand at this recipe. It was pretty simple to whip together, easier than making chocolate chip cookies (and healthier). I don't think I'll ever need to resort to using condensed milk, this IS the perfect coconut macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I had very high hopes for this recipe... I did the first batch as directed 350 for 15 min. but they didn't seem 'right'.. so I decreased the heat to 325 and upped the time to 22 min. Those were much better. I used tablespoons , as I am not sure what golf ball sized meant. I pulsed the coconut in the food processor for 30 sec as directed, but in future batches, I think I will leave the coconut shaggier for a lighter, slightly dense macaroon. or at least only pulse half of the coconut. I did like the half vanilla half almond flavoring. Overall, will make again, but with the changes as mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maiat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These were divine! They turned out exactly as I hoped they would. They seemed just like a macaroon from a bakery. Wonderful texture and just the right amount of sweetness. The ratio of ingredients works perfectly. I find this kind of macaroon to be so much better than the kind made with sweetened condensed milk. I prefer larger shreds of coconut, so I skipped the step with the food processor. Instead I mixed all of the ingredients (minus the egg whites and extracts) in the mixer on low speed until well combined. After moving that mixture to a large bowl, I beat the eggs whites and then beat in the extracts. I omitted the almond extract this time, but I may add it back in next time. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I tried this recipe and liked it but I used 6 Tablespoons of flour and 1 teaspoon of Baking Powder and beat my egg whites till a stiff peak formed and then folded everything in. They came out perfectly round and high. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These really WERE perfect! I made them for a friend's birthday, and they were a huge hit. I made them the night before, and refrigerated them until ready to eat. The yeild of the recipe for me was about 20 macaroons. I would've probably had a lot more, but I didn't beat the eggwhites enough, so they completely fell when I added the coconut. Next time I make these macaroons, I will whip those eggwhites until there's no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegetariancook123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I tried the macaroon recipes with sweetened condensed milk and found them to be way too sweet, with a glossy, weird texture. These looked and tasted like they came from a high-end bakery. This is going in my collection of treasured family recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I usually don't like recipes that say they are the best or perfect, but these truthfully are! I made for a friend who adores macaroons and she couldn't stop raving, a good dark chocolate is a must for dipping too. I used my #50 scoop and got 18 cookies, will make a bit smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent! My second batch is in the oven now. I took the suggestion and used the 6 tbsp. of flour and 1 tsp. of baking powder. I did not have almond extract so I omitted. I also mixed in bowl without processing. I beat my egg whites to stiff peaks. Wetting the hands really helps solve the stickiness. I like my brown and toasty, so I kept them in the oven 20-25 minutes watching carefully. (My oven sucks so don't go by my time.) This is a keeper that will I will make often. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhalemic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I absolutely LOVE coconut macaroons. I had 3 egg whites leftover and wanted to do something rather than throw them out and this was the perfect recipe to use them in. I made the recipe exactly as written except for dipping them in chocolate (I may try that later). These were absolutely fabulous! Sweet enough without being too sweet. I would NOT recommend adding extra flour as some reviews suggest - it would likely make them too dry. If you have a hard time with them holding together just "squeeze" the balls hard, packing the dough together. This is what I did and it worked beautifully!!! This will be my go to recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Made these gluten free by substituting Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Flour Mix. Used the 6 T flour & 1 t baking powder as suggested by Lisad25. These really did come out bakery quality. Had to bake 20 minutes in convection oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States