Perfect Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I tried the macaroon recipes with sweetened condensed milk and found them to be way too sweet, with a glossy, weird texture. These looked and tasted like they came from a high-end bakery. This is going in my collection of treasured family recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe! My first time making coconut macaroons and these came out great. The few recipes I looked at before this one called for condensed milk or unbeaten egg whites which sounded unusual. So I tried my hand at this recipe. It was pretty simple to whip together, easier than making chocolate chip cookies (and healthier). I don't think I'll ever need to resort to using condensed milk, this IS the perfect coconut macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
These were divine! They turned out exactly as I hoped they would. They seemed just like a macaroon from a bakery. Wonderful texture and just the right amount of sweetness. The ratio of ingredients works perfectly. I find this kind of macaroon to be so much better than the kind made with sweetened condensed milk. I prefer larger shreds of coconut, so I skipped the step with the food processor. Instead I mixed all of the ingredients (minus the egg whites and extracts) in the mixer on low speed until well combined. After moving that mixture to a large bowl, I beat the eggs whites and then beat in the extracts. I omitted the almond extract this time, but I may add it back in next time. Thank you for such a wonderful and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I've never made macaroons before and these turned out great! I liked the idea of using egg whites instead of condensed milk. They were still plenty sweet. I didn't have parchment paper so I just greased some aluminum foil. Quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
These really WERE perfect! I made them for a friend's birthday, and they were a huge hit. I made them the night before, and refrigerated them until ready to eat. The yeild of the recipe for me was about 20 macaroons. I would've probably had a lot more, but I didn't beat the eggwhites enough, so they completely fell when I added the coconut. Next time I make these macaroons, I will whip those eggwhites until there's no tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vegetariancook123

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
very, very good and simple to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
These coconut macaroons were so good! It was my first time ever making macaroons so, I didn't know how they would turn out but they turned out great. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T.... and they came out perfect, will turm into my permanent macaroon recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAIKIRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Yes! Finally. a Perfect Macaroon! Light, yet dense & chewy & moist. Just like a tasty bakery cookie! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States